(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 46

Thread: pumptec problem

  1. #31
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    That size pump should work fine. That pumptec IS a "control to be able to maintain suction", but I think a Cycle Sensor works better.

    Maybe they are installing one of these;

    http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/index2.html


    It can be added later if need be.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  2. #32
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default The new Gould stats & the mistake wiring up to the jet

    The well man accidentally wired the jet pump to 220 and when it kicked on it was grinding loud and only ran 20 sec or so( Its suppose to rum 3.5 minutes. He did this a half dozen times trying to figure why it was acting that way. I told him it ran fine before the work was started. of course hes thinkin "Oh sure it was" he said "Did you ever let the jet suck air running the tank water too low? I told him the jet wont run when the water level get somewhere just above the water pickup in the tank. So no.
    He proceeded to connect 110 to the jet instead and it worked fine...he said.
    So my question now is " damage?..I'm thinking it took some life out of it?
    Here is the pump stats:
    Gould
    5sbo5
    412cl
    1/2 hp 1/60/230
    3w 12 stg 4" sub

    So whats the good and or bad if any?
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-30-2013 at 01:16 PM.

  3. #33
    DIY Senior Member tvl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    132

    Default

    Timbuktu,

    I have been following this post with interest .................. but I am now confused:

    Above you stated the well man attempted to connect 220 volts to the new pump and it made a grinding noise. He then connected 110 volts and it ran fine.

    In your stats you list the pump as a 1/2 HP, single phase, 60 hertz AND 220 volts. If this is the case, the pump should be running on 220 volts?????

  4. #34
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    accidentally wired the jet pump to 220 (my original quote above)

    When he installed the well pump and was connecting the jet pump(house pressure).he connected the 220 to it instead of the 110.
    For some reason he ASSUMED the jet was 220 when it was 110.
    And this guy has been working years on pumps daily.
    i guess we can all do dumb things all the time,but with experience in electricity,I would think that would be one of the main checks you do before hooking them up.
    The other thing is he asks ME to turn the main power on or off when he started working on it. i wouldnt trust anyone else in the beginning that the correct one was being turned off. i assume he checked it with a meter befor touching it? I doubt it.
    Thats how you stay alive and not frying electrical equipment. You double check it YOUrSELF.

    Its now 0900 the next day and its working fine so far.
    Its got a different box on it now. Ill get into that on a later post. I was busy doing other unrelated stufff while he worked on the pumpand I forgot to ask him how the replacement control box (only one) works and if i can make adjustments etc.
    Ill post later.
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-31-2013 at 08:45 AM.

  5. #35
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,773

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    accidentally wired the jet pump to 220
    I think you better get him to either give you aan extended warranty in writing to cover that pump motor and labor or have him put another in right now. I would prefer the latter if it were me. Starting and running it at double rated voltage multiple times certainly did it no GOOD. Ask him; its your money!
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  6. #36
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    accidentally wired the jet pump to 220

    Some People just should not be playing with electricity.

    That guy must have a brown ring around his neck.

    Did you have to help him to get his head out of his ass ?


    Sounds like you have water.


    Enjoy.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  7. #37
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,773

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Some People just should not be playing with electricity.

    That guy must have a brown ring around his neck.

    Did you have to help him to get his head out of his ass ?


    Sounds like you have water.


    Enjoy.
    Don, you really have a way with words
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  8. #38
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default Finding the best thing to propose to the well company for the possible jet damage

    thanks BobL

    DonLs recommendation is an exellent idea,but before I act on this, Id like to open this up to other suggestions.
    Some variations of DonL's idea if there are any.
    Here's my reasoning:
    The well used up all my cash and credit available to me. With that ,maybe i should ask for a refund in cash for the amount of a prorated value of the jet pump plus labor charges to install a new one?
    Im mean thats just one possibility,and with input from members maybe I can get more options to consider,especially if he rejects the offer I use ,that Donl suggested.


    Quote Originally Posted by BobL43 View Post
    I think you better get him to either give you aan extended warranty in writing to cover that pump motor and labor or have him put another in right now. I would prefer the latter if it were me. Starting and running it at double rated voltage multiple times certainly did it no GOOD. Ask him; its your money!

  9. #39
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    i decided to look at the jet pump and its a Gould J55 1/2hp 115/230
    Just for clarification:
    Doesnt this mean its either a 115 or a 230?. Why would a 220 over heat and cause the jet to grind?
    i suppose unit will run either,but first the installer mus configure the wiring to get on or the other and that is what he didnt do?

  10. #40
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,434

    Default

    WHen a pump is labeled that way, you can adjust the wiring to run it at either 115 or 230 - depending on the pump, it is done by either flipping a switch, moving jumpers, or connecting the power leads properly. So, to figure out what it is actually configured to run on would require looking at it and the associated wiring. Running it improperly configured will ruin it, maybe quickly. Also, keep in mind that if configured for 115vac rather than 230vac, you'd need larger supply wires and a bigger CB.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  11. #41
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Thanks
    Jim

  12. #42
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Thanks
    Jim

  13. #43
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default Should I start a new thread?

    ive now discussed, to my satisfaction, the thread" Pumptec problem "and the other" $10 control box".

    Now that I have a new pump and control box I want to discuss , i can see it two options.

    1-This should be a whole new topic (that's how I see it)
    2- Continue on this thread. Moderators might think it is still related to the original post"Pumptec problem

    So Ill ask before I start a new thread. "My new Gould 1/2 HP pump and the new control box"
    Which should I do : new topic or continuation of this thread?
    Mods,anyone?
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-31-2013 at 05:28 PM. Reason: Im stupid

  14. #44
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Start another.

    Three is a Charm.


    Have fun.
    Last edited by DonL; 06-01-2013 at 05:50 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  15. #45
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,773

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    ive now discussed, to my satisfaction, the thread" Pumptec problem "and the other" $10 control box".

    Now that I have a new pump and control box I want to discuss , i can see it two options.

    1-This should be a whole new topic (that's how I see it)
    2- Continue on this thread. Moderators might think it is still related to the original post"Pumptec problem

    So Ill ask before I start a new thread. "My new Gould 1/2 HP pump and the new control box"
    Which should I do : new topic or continuation of this thread?
    Mods,anyone?
    No, youre NOT stupid.

    I agree with Don; start another thread. Got to go outside now and Mo zee lawn. Voir Don, Je parle francaise aussi
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

Similar Threads

  1. Pumptec
    By Healz99 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2009, 03:21 PM
  2. Pumptec lights
    By jpaul in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 04:45 PM
  3. Pumptec Help
    By charlesspock in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 05:19 AM
  4. new pumptec, no pressure
    By Daveyboy in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-06-2006, 02:03 PM
  5. Pumptec Installation
    By neever in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2006, 07:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •