(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 15 of 46

Thread: pumptec problem

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default pumptec problem

    I was having some issues with my pump tec last summer. it seemed like just connection issues within the pumptec itself.Sometimes the wells pump wouldnt come on,but Re positioning the PTec faceplate usually worked.It functioned normally for the next 7 months then it started acting up again .

    I noticed yesterday something different happened. The single reset(1 red button) would kick off,but if i waited a few minutes or so,and reset it it would run the pump as usual.
    Then, at some point, a few (4 or 5)resets later, the lights in the pumptec cover plate were completely off(not lit as theyre supposed to be when connected to its box.Sometimes there will be a slight bit of red and green light but not bright like it usually is.
    Either way,lights dim or out,the jet still operates,but it no longer activates the well pump.
    Any ideas?
    Attached Images Attached Images    
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-21-2013 at 10:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    There is an obvious bad connection on one of those red, twist on, Scotch locks.

  3. #3
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Thx Valveman
    Boy is it great the days are longer,still not enough time though.
    Although the dark burn spot you see on the twist cap has been there for a year or more,i guess it may have finally deteriorated enough by this time to reduce but not totally lose enough power to still run the jet...right?
    Im going out now,and giver a try.

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    I was having some issues with my pump tec last summer. it seemed like just connection issues within the pumptec itself.Sometimes the wells pump wouldnt come on,but Re positioning the PTec faceplate usually worked.It functioned normally for the next 7 months then it started acting up again.
    The connection could have been causing a problem since "last summer". Everytime you giggled the box it would work again for a while. Looks burned now.

  5. #5
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    well,i replaced the twist and it worked fine. About 7 hours later I noticed it had tripped off after or during the first pumping cycle after the repair. i reset it and it continued to pump water again. i will go out now and check if it has trippedpped. Im back andd yes it had tripped. i reset it and within 5 sec it tripped off again. So Ill try retightening the nut to get as good of contact as I can and see if that solves the problem.
    if that doesnt solve the tripping,what could be causing it?Any advice on what i should do nxt would be appreciated.

    Thirty minutes later
    I reset a couple more times,again,and itstill trips.
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-24-2013 at 03:49 AM.

  6. #6
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    next day thursday 23
    Today's Update on my pumptec/tripping ,for better clarification if needed

    I left the trip switch in the tripped position for the last 12 or more hours 3pm to 3 am.
    Then, at 3 am I reset the switch and the pump worked fine for the expected 15 minutes when this low producing well nears empty.

    Immediately after the water stops being pumped into the tank, the "control or condenser box" switch trips ...which isnt the way its supposed to do.Instead the pumptec is suppose to do the tripping
    .
    Before it will resume pumping ,i have to wait from 4 to 12 hours before the pump motor will work . Normal wait time is 15 to 30 minutes when the settings are set that often .

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    well,i replaced the twist ant it worked fine. about 7 hours later I noticed it had triped off after or during the first pumping cycle after the repair. i reset it and it continued to pump water again. i will go out now and check if it has trippedpped. Im back andd yes it had tripped. i reset it and within 5 sec it tripped off again. So Ill try retightening the nut to get as good of contact as I can and see if that solves the problem.
    if that doesnt solve the tripping,what could be causing it?Any advice on what i should do nxt would be appreciated.

    Thirty minutes later
    I reset a couple more times,again,and itstill trips.
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-24-2013 at 03:49 AM.

  7. #7
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default Fri 24 update on Tripping control box

    Friday 24 3 AM

    I just turned on the well ,as i did yesterday at 3 AM, but it didnt pump water as it had yesterday .
    The control box switch simply tripped off .
    So now it doesnt work ..... period!
    I would like to put off calling the pump outfit until i hear more from the forum members.



    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    next day thursday
    Today's Update on my pumptec/tripping ,for better clarification if needed

    I left the trip switch in the tripped position for the last 12 or more hours 3pm to 3 am.
    Then, at 3 am I reset the switch and the pump worked fine for the expected 15 minutes when this low producing well nears empty.

    Immediately after the water stops being pumped into the tank, the "control or condenser box" switch trips ...which isnt the way its supposed to do.Instead the pumptec is suppose to do the tripping
    .
    Before it will resume pumping ,i have to wait from 4 to 12 hours before the pump motor will work . Normal wait time is 15 to 30 minutes when the settings are set that often .
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 05-24-2013 at 03:50 AM.

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Did You cut back the bad place in the wire that had the loose connection ?

    The wires should be cut back to Good Clean wire.

    You should check the other connections as well, they may be loose also.


    Good Luck.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Pumptec
    By Healz99 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-03-2009, 03:21 PM
  2. Pumptec lights
    By jpaul in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-13-2009, 04:45 PM
  3. Pumptec Help
    By charlesspock in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 05:19 AM
  4. new pumptec, no pressure
    By Daveyboy in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12-06-2006, 02:03 PM
  5. Pumptec Installation
    By neever in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-14-2006, 07:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •