(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New Flotec well pump wiring (2 wire has 3 wires) ??

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Denny Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Default New Flotec well pump wiring (2 wire has 3 wires) ??

    I am replacing my old 1/2 horse well pump with a 3/4 horse flotec 2 wire.

    The problem is, my well has only two wires. A white and black wire. The flotec on the other hand has 3 wires (even though the box said it was a 2 wire) the three wires consist of two black wires and one green wire. What am I to do with the 3rd wire? And is green considered the ground?

    Thanks,
    Denny

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    710

    Default

    The green wire is a ground. To be code compliant, you need to put in new 3 conductor wire and bond the green wire to the casing, well cap and to the breaker panel in the house.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Denny Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Default

    You know, that just seems silly to me. The best (ground) you'll ever have is the well in which the pump is in. What possible good would running a ground to the breaker box do?

    So, the two black wires are the same as the red and whit wires currently running to the pump? Are they 2 hots technically?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,154

    Default

    Yes the two blacks are hot wires. You know it ran fine for years on just the two wires, so you can just cut off the green one. But it won't be up to "code" if you don't have a third wire for the ground.

  5. #5
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,137

    Default

    There are also 1/2 HP pumps that are 120 volt, so the smart thing to do is check in the main panel make sure it is what you think it is.

  6. #6
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cacher_chick View Post
    There are also 1/2 HP pumps that are 120 volt, so the smart thing to do is check in the main panel make sure it is what you think it is.
    I don't think you can get a 3/4 HP in 115V, so the new pump must be 230V. But CC is right, the old pump could have been a 115V, so you need to check the breaker, or the old control box should say 115V or 230V.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member Denny Smith's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Yes, I'm sure it's 230v. I had it out once before. The old one was a 1/2 HP 230v Red Jacket. I replaced it with 3/4 HP 230v Flotec. I hope that's not a mistake because I'm not sure the GPM is equal to the old one. I gather the HP doesn't really matter, it's the GPM. I ran the green wire up to the top of the casting and just attached it to the old ground that is coincidentally grounded at the connector. So far so good.

  8. #8
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,137

    Default

    The Flotec pumps are not known for their quality or longetivity. Let us know how that works out for you.

Similar Threads

  1. Double oven and cooktop wiring - connecting three #6 wires
    By jhodgens in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 02:19 PM
  2. Flotec Bar Sink Pump
    By Jeff Zee in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 01:21 PM
  3. Flotec 1/3 sump pump
    By Cass in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2007, 09:54 AM
  4. Disassembling a flotec jet pump
    By garliceggs in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2007, 07:09 AM
  5. Flotec FP5172 motor wiring
    By buffalogapper in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2007, 11:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •