Water pressure is not constant

Users who are viewing this thread

Scottnot So Handy

Reaction score
Good Morning and hello,
Fairly new to this forum but after reading some awesome articles it is now in my favorites!

Anyway I am hoping you guys can give me some advice. As my name states I am not very good at being a handy man but it is not from lack of effort!
Anyway my problem is my water pressure through out the house goes up and down. Doesn't matter day or night. Also I noticed yesterday while I was in the basement a switch (assuming water pump switch) would keep clicking when the water was running. It would click twice, one right after another, then stop for about 30 seconds and start again. Also the copper pipe attached to the pressure tank vibrates alot every time it clicks. This goes on for awhile then it shuts off.

back ground information
I am on a well
I recently had the hot water heater replaced ( 2 weeks ago)
I replaced the pressure tank about 10 years ago.

Hopefully this is enough to get some advice from you guys.

Thanks in advance!!!

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
Hopefully this is enough to get some advice from you guys.

Not really.
What kind of pump, jet or submersed? What is the pressure guage showing through all that? Have you checked the precharge on the bladder?

From the sounds of it, it may be too late to save the pump. It sounds like it is short cycling and the thermal overload is tripping.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Pump cycling on and off? That is usually a sign of a "waterlogged" pressure tank so you are operating on "pump pressure" which will rise and fall as the pressure switch turns the pump on and off.

Scottnot So Handy

Reaction score
Thanks LL and hj
I will go home at lunch and check the pressure. Not sure what kind of pump it is, is there a way to tell what kind you have?

Can I drain the water out of the pressure tank?

Thanks again

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website