(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Best set-up for a very long run to tank float switch & back to contactor/controller

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member ronan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Question Best set-up for a very long run to tank float switch & back to contactor/controller

    Hello everyone just looking to pick some more experienced brains than mine on this mater. I have a 220v pump in my well pumping up to a gravity feed tank on my property 450ft rise & 1800ft run..!. Right now itís controlled by a simple 220v Intermatic 24 Hour Mechanical Timer/Switch set to run for whatever specific time I set it to. When I put the system in I buried conduit with a couple of pull boxes for future installation of a wide angle float switch in the water tank to operate a contactor/controller at the well. A much more efficient way of running the pump as it would/will only be running when the demand is there.

    Anyway I am just now getting around to putting this plan into action and was wondering if anyone out there has any recommendations about a good or better set-up. Things like what voltage to run to the float switch for such a long run, recommended wire size and what contactor set-up might be recommend..? I would like to keep the system nice and simple and not make it overly complicated! Any help greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member VAWellDriller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    162

    Default

    Do you have power at the tank location? If so, I'd put a remote telemetry system; have used remote control technologies systems with good luck, google them. Also, what HP is the pump, and 2 wire or 3 ?

  3. #3
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,173

    Default

    I have had problems with long runs on AC power. The inductance between the two wires is the same as if the float switch where closed and calling for water all the time. Use DC power from the float switch to a relay and you shouldn’t have problems.

    I have also had telemetry systems recommended by many people who have done this as VA says. I think the one last recommended to me was an “Isaacs” (spelling?).

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member ronan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default

    If I remember right it is a 1 hp, 3 wire Franklin submersible pumping about 8 gallons a minute. Also no power at the tank! I would prefer hard wiring the system.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member ronan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Any info on a DC float switch circuit running an AC contactor..?

  6. #6
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,173

    Default

    The float switch doesn't care if it is AC or DC. You just need a DC coil in the contactor and a DC transformer to send power to the float switch and back.

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member ronan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the info. Could you tell me what voltage is typical/recommended for the transformer pwr through the float switch on a run that long? And who would you recommend as a good solid manufacture of such an off the shelf control box? It's typically called a simplex control box...Correct? There is such a plethora of control boxes out there I can't sift through them for the one one that has the good old fashion proven rock solid reputation. Is there a reputable pump supply company I can call and tell them my requirements and they can tell me what I need. I am pretty savvy with concern to home building and basic plumbing but this is outside my realm of expertise..! Most places I talk to don't ever deal with this scenario and are not to enthusiastic about providing me with any help. Much thanks in advance for any additional info.

  8. #8
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,173

    Default

    You might want to put the contactor in a box, but a contactor is all you need. One with a 24 VDC coil and contacts rated for the pumps amperage at 240 VAC.

Similar Threads

  1. Dosing tank float switch
    By Wildduk in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 12:52 PM
  2. Float Switch Failure- Take Two
    By Dungmin in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 08:07 AM
  3. Best Float Switch
    By ArayT in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-04-2010, 11:13 AM
  4. Differential controller running too long
    By joe smith 100 in forum Solar and Geothermal Water Heating Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 02:00 PM
  5. Water tank float switch
    By Spaceman Spiff in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-19-2005, 08:16 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •