(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 46

Thread: 502 bad gateway

  1. #16
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I notice this morning that Microsoft downloaded and installed about eleven "important" updates yesterday.
    I assume patches for much of those reasons. It's amazing that we have to keep "fixing" our computers. It's like the kid in school grabbing the pencil from your desk all the time or taking your milk at lunch.

  2. #17
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I notice this morning that Microsoft downloaded and installed about eleven "important" updates yesterday.
    I assume patches for much of those reasons. It's amazing that we have to keep "fixing" our computers. It's like the kid in school grabbing the pencil from your desk all the time or taking your milk at lunch.

    Not on my machines, Auto updates is the first thing that I turn Off.

    I did see that my browser is out of date now.

    They are forcing a update that will not be so good.

    More work for me. I like Money.

    I did notice I have some older post now.

    This one just popped up,

    http://www.terrylove.com/forums/show...mostat-Problem


    And my edit window keeps getting smaller.


    Terry, did you get the wires crossed.


    If so, that is cool.
    Last edited by DonL; 07-11-2013 at 09:47 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  3. #18
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I haven't changed anything today.
    I don't know how to change the number of posts it reads down. I think it's too short too.

  4. #19
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I haven't changed anything today.
    I don't know how to change the number of posts it reads down. I think it's too short too.

    Just need a way to get your site more traffic.

    You have a good site, if more people would use it, that would fix the problem.


    Put some Goodies in the PHP code, that will take you to the top...
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  5. #20
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Not on my machines, Auto updates is the first thing that I turn Off.

    I did see that my browser is out of date now.

    They are forcing a update that will not be so good.

    More work for me. I like Money.

    I did notice I have some older post now.

    This one just popped up,

    http://www.terrylove.com/forums/show...mostat-Problem


    And my edit window keeps getting smaller.


    Terry, did you get the wires crossed.


    If so, that is cool.
    Microsoft is so rude! even though I have MY pc set to alert me when updates are available, the updates occur; not only do they just occur, but when they are important updates (according to Microsoft), my PC tells me it is going to reboot in 15 minutes or whatever to give me time to save my work first. No way to stop it, even in the task manager as far as I can see. This is with Win8 and IE10 that came with my newest PC. Very rude, very rude!
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  6. #21
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL43 View Post
    Microsoft is so rude! even though I have MY pc set to alert me when updates are available, the updates occur; not only do they just occur, but when they are important updates (according to Microsoft), my PC tells me it is going to reboot in 15 minutes or whatever to give me time to save my work first. No way to stop it, even in the task manager as far as I can see. This is with Win8 and IE10 that came with my newest PC. Very rude, very rude!

    One way to stop it is to disconnect from the internet, then it will try again later.

    Or disable it all together in the Task Scheduler. That will keep it from looking for updates.


    I like to apply the updates that I need, not the ones that hose a working system.


    Have Fun.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  7. #22
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    One way to stop it is to disconnect from the internet, then it will try again later.

    Or disable it all together in the Task Scheduler. That will keep it from looking for updates.


    I like to apply the updates that I need, not the ones that hose a working system.


    Have Fun.
    Microsoft programmers are smarter than me, and almost as smart as the hackers out there, so even though MS pisses me off at times, I guess I can deal with following their "suggestions" as long as they are not asking me to buy more of their stuff.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  8. #23
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    I had this Bad Gateway message all morning. During that time http://isup.me/www.terrylove.com was reporting the site as down.

  9. #24
    Master Plumber Redwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    Anybody still getting bad gateway messages?
    I updated the software last night. It seems a bit faster now. What do you guys think?

    I also found the clearing my cache on the computer helped.
    I had it several times earlier this morning in multiple browsers...

  10. #25
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    We had to reboot the server today. I'm trying to brainstorm why this happens, and if I can make some positive changes to correct that.

  11. #26
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    We had to reboot the server today. I'm trying to brainstorm why this happens, and if I can make some positive changes to correct that.

    Do you have a way to auto reboot the server every day or two ?

    I auto reboot my servers every day in the middle of the night when usage is low.

    Saves me a lot of headaches.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  12. #27
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    We had to reboot the server today. I'm trying to brainstorm why this happens, and if I can make some positive changes to correct that.

    Don't Rule out Hackers.

    Seems like they have been having fun with VB Forums.

    Another feather in their cap to shut a forum down.


    Have Fun Everyone.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #28
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    SPAMtabulous

    Gibber ish, ist dis fish? Captain Crunch, does he much?

    Too much ash
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  14. #29
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL43 View Post
    SPAMtabulous
    I already hit the "Hey Mod" button but the mods must be sleeping late.

    Ash is my favorite firewood. I can never have too much Ash.

  15. #30
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Ash certainly makes me warm all over. I can't get enough ash either, now that you mentioned it Ignited by friction.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •