(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: control box

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default control box

    I just had pump and pressure tank installed at my new property now I need to wire breaker the deluxe 3hp control box and pressure switch I am confused the pump directions say different from control box. Its a Gould's 3hp pump and Gould's or Franklin deluxe control box. I see where the red yellow black go from the well my question is from my 240v breaker do I run those wires into the control box? Then from the control box the sw and l1 go to the pressure switch plus the ground. Is that right? There will be two empty slots on the switch

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    L1 & L2 from breaker to the switch. M1 & M2 from switch to control box.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    On the control box I have sw,L1,L2,r,y,b that's it I might have the colors wrong I don't have box in front of me and I didn't see any markings on pressure switch

  4. #4
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    The switch should have four screws for four wires and two pairs of contacts. One wire from the breaker L1 goes to one side of a contact. From there it goes to the motor M1 from the other side of the same contact if no control box is used, or to the L1 of the control box. Repeat for L2/M2/L2.

  5. #5
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Here is a schematic from the Goulds service manual.

    Name:  wiring.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  36.5 KB

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    What is the SW contact in my control box

  7. #7
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Never heard of it. What does the manual say it is? Is it one contact or a pair of contacts?

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    The well guys left it there wasent a manual just a diagram. Its a deluxe 3hp controlcontrol box with a few difernt things inside but 6 connections

  9. #9
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    OK, I found the manual online. It calls for different wiring than what I initially said.
    http://www.rcworst.com/content/docs/...rGuide2010.pdf page 53.
    Name:  wiring2.jpg
Views: 102
Size:  62.1 KB

  10. #10
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    713

    Default

    I don't install a lot of these deluxe boxes, but if memory serves me right you only need to use one side of the pressure switch to control the pump with the deluxe box.

  11. #11
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    That's what I have. so if I hook the control box up like what the diagram says ill be good? The SW goes to the load contact in the pressure swich and L2 goes to the line

  12. #12
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Yes as shown in the schematic.

  13. #13
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    The diagram dose not exactly show where they go on the pressure switch

  14. #14
    DIY Senior Member VAWellDriller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    161

    Default

    Either set of contacts....doesn't matter. use either the two on left or two on right as a pair.

  15. #15
    DIY Junior Member 85ray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Wa
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thanks I am going to wire it up tonight

Similar Threads

  1. How to wire in volume control with the Thermasol steam shower control unit?
    By itstopshelf in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2014, 09:43 AM
  2. GMT 100 PSI Control - Where?
    By Rudy VOn Bartesch in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2012, 07:22 AM
  3. Air Control Valve
    By Chrisw1958 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 01:59 PM
  4. Do we need Gun control YET?
    By Cookie in forum Computers and Stuff
    Replies: 110
    Last Post: 04-17-2009, 11:02 AM
  5. well control box
    By wellzombie in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-23-2007, 10:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •