Homemade egg incubator help.

Users who are viewing this thread

Skunkworks101

Reaction score
I'm new here,sorry about that but I need electrical help. I don't know how many here know whats involved in incubating eggs until hatching but thats not a biggy. I can explain everything thats involved since I have been doing this for several years now.I have good mechanical ability-construction abilities to build an incubator the size that I want but I do not have the knowledge of exactly what types of electrical equipment is needed exactly to make this work.I currently own whats called a Brinsea 190 EX Ova Easy incubator that is 100% set it and forget it but it's now too small for me and to get the needed capacity I need for a lot lower price I know I can build one cheeper.

Most all know what an incubator does but I'm lost on how-what to buy to make it all work.The eggs must be turned 90 degrees in their trays several times each day.I plan to make 2-3 trays to hold the eggs in but then must add an electric motor that will rock these eggs back and forth.All the trays will be hooked together with a rod hooked to each on exactly the same and the electric motor will need a timer that can be set to turn these trays every couple hours.Once the trays are at the bottom of their travel in one direction,the electric motor needs to stop.After the say,3 hour interval the trays needs to be rotated the other direction and stopped.I've consider using toggle limit switches to stop the travel in both directions but do not know what type of timer to buy that can accomplish this.I also have no idea how to wire this all up.