Looking for recommendations for water softener companies

Users who are viewing this thread

Mexicanbaseball7

Reaction score
I am just about to close on a new home in Spring, TX and was looking for some good recommendations for companies that provide water softeners and the water softeners brands themselves. The house has 4 and 1/2 baths and will have 4 to 5 people living in it from time to time. I have looked for water specs online, but have not been able to find anything. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to all of this.

Mikey

Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek
Reaction score
You basically have 3 choices:
1) Find a local dealer for a national brand with a good reputation in your area and leave everything to him or her. Big names include Rainsoft and Kinetico. Expensive but carefree if your dealer knows what he's doing.
2) Find a local dealer who builds his own branded systems from components. Big names in control valves include Clack and Fleck. Less expensive than the proprietary systems in (1), carefree if your dealer knows what he's doing.
3) Find a local or Internet vendor who will sell you the parts to build your own system. Several names pop up regularly on this forum, including ohiopurewater.com, qualitywaterforless.com, freshwatersystems.com, discountwatersofteners.com, cleanwaterstore.com. Read through other threads here and look at some websites to get a flavor for what a DIY project entails. Minor regular attention required on your part once you know what your're doing. Basic plumbing skills and common sense are prerequisites.