(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 29 of 29

Thread: Well pump electrical setup

  1. #16
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prayingmantis287 View Post
    Bump``````

    Does that mean that you still have problems ?

    Or did you do some Cocaine ?
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  2. #17
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Does that mean that you still have problems ?

    Or did you do some Cocaine ?
    No 8-balls here, but yeah, I'm still trying to figure this out.

  3. #18
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prayingmantis287 View Post
    Also, with the Pumptec being in the scheme of things, does that change anything?

    Attachment 19605


    It looks to me that will not work, If that is really a DPDT Center Off. ?

    You have the Motors in series with each other and neither will have any voltage across them, In any switch position.

    Or did you move the terminals around on the switch ?


    Name:  DPDT_switches.jpg
Views: 4350
Size:  24.6 KB
    Last edited by DonL; 04-20-2013 at 04:36 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  4. #19
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Here is a link to the switch. http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/Produ...minisite=10251
    Not sure why the picture only shows a three terminal switch, but it does have 6. No, I haven't moved any terminals around. So if I understand you right, there isn't a way to use the pumptec while providing power to the dpdt switch. Is it possible to instead provide power directly to each switch (the pressure and the float switches) and use the dpdt switch to direct the current to the pumptec/well pump?

  5. #20
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prayingmantis287 View Post
    Here is a link to the switch. http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/Produ...minisite=10251
    Not sure why the picture only shows a three terminal switch, but it does have 6. No, I haven't moved any terminals around. So if I understand you right, there isn't a way to use the pumptec while providing power to the dpdt switch. Is it possible to instead provide power directly to each switch (the pressure and the float switches) and use the dpdt switch to direct the current to the pumptec/well pump?

    They show a Single Pole switch. And that drawing must be a Mechanical drawing and is a bit confusing. Made in Mexico.


    The Electrical diagram would look like this.

    Name:  240V_DPDT.jpg
Views: 619
Size:  6.9 KB


    I guess you already have the switch ? If not this company has controls that may be a better option.

    http://www.freshwatersystems.com/p-4...-male-npt.aspx



    Be careful Playing with electricity.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  6. #21
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prayingmantis287 View Post
    Bump``````
    Been on vacation.

    You can change the voltage on your jet pump and use the double pole switch to send power to either the well pump or the jet pump and turn either on with the pressure switch or the float switch.

    Wires leave the breaker and series through the float switch and the pressure switch then to the common on the double pole, double throw switch. Switch up send power to well pump, switch down send power to jet pump. Is this what you are trying to do?
    Last edited by ActionDave; 04-22-2013 at 08:34 PM.

  7. #22
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    Been on vacation.

    You can change the voltage on your jet pump and use the double pole switch to send power to either the well pump or the jet pump and turn either on with the pressure switch or the float switch.

    Wires leave the breaker and series through the float switch and the pressure switch then to the common on the double pole, double throw switch. Switch up send power to well pump, switch down send power to jet pump. Is this what you are trying to do?

    Awesome, I think this is exactly what I needed to know. Thanks for bearing with me on this. I don't feel comfortable enough tackling it myself, but I think it may help the electrician I hire to understand what I'm trying to achieve. Hope you had a good vacation. Thanks DonL for for all of the info and the link you provided, too.

    -Tim

  8. #23
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    All's good.

    I focused on the electrical side of your question. I'm confused about the plumbing side. You need the well pump to fill your pressure tank or the well pump to fill the cistern and the jet pump to fill the the pressure tank. I don't know how you can make the two independent .

  9. #24
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    All's good.

    I focused on the electrical side of your question. I'm confused about the plumbing side. You need the well pump to fill your pressure tank or the well pump to fill the cistern and the jet pump to fill the the pressure tank. I don't know how you can make the two independent .

    Hopefully this diagram helps visualize it. To have the water fill the cistern and the jet pump fill the pressure tank, I would turn the three way valve to pump directly into the cistern and open the ball valve near the jet pump. To have the water pumped directly to the pressure tank, I would turn the three way valve to bypass the cistern and close the ball valve near the jet pump.


    Name:  Well pump plumbing diagram.jpg
Views: 1197
Size:  29.2 KB

  10. #25
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default Confusing

    May I ask, Exactly what is the problem that you need this mod ?

    I was confused from the original post.

    What exactly is the method to your madness ?
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  11. #26
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    May I ask, Exactly what is the problem that you need this mod ?

    I was confused from the original post.

    What exactly is the method to your madness ?

    I guess the main reason for doing this is that we actually don't have a problem anymore (knock on wood) which was an almost useless well. Currently, the cistern uses a float switch, but even being tethered as short as it can go it has to fill over three pressure tank cycles worth of water by the time it switches off. Another main reason is i really don't want to have chlorine in the water (would need to purchase an injection system as there currently is none. Speaking of which, thanks Dave for pointing out it doesn't need to be as concentrated as city water to still be effective.) There's also a kinda gross layer of algae coating the inside of the cistern because it's located near a window. A couple other reasons are to eliminate the need to pump the water twice (might save a bit of money on the electric after a while) and the only thing between the guest bedroom and the jet pump is a layer of sheetrock (that pump is mighty loud). One more bonus i just thought of is if the float switch ever got stuck in the on position, I might get the entire contents of the well in my house

  12. #27
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    This is the confusing part;

    "it has to fill over three pressure tank cycles worth of water"

    What is "three pressure tank cycles" ?
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #28
    DIY Junior Member prayingmantis287's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Kendall, NY
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    This is the confusing part;

    "it has to fill over three pressure tank cycles worth of water"

    What is "three pressure tank cycles" ?

    What I mean by a cycle is where the jet pump turns on when the pressure drops to 40psi and shuts off at 60psi. Given that the draw down is approximately 10 gallons for the size of the tank, the well pump needs to pump at least 30 gallons all at once to recover the water level in the cistern instead of 10 gallons at a time to refill just the pressure tank. I think what I'm trying to get at is the cistern setup is actually working opposite of what it's intended for (letting the well recover slowly), because we don't use a whole lot of water. We may switch back over to using the cistern once we have kids though. I hear they get dirty a lot

  14. #29
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,644

    Default

    I think I got it now.

    Why don't you just adjust the pressure switch for 50/60 ?, that would help but it will make the pump cycle more.

    Or put a flow restriction on the output of the well pump. That may be a better option.

    What controls your well pump ? Does it have a pressure switch also ?

    I guess you have it on the float switch ?
    Last edited by DonL; 04-26-2013 at 08:32 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Well pump failure and electrical question. 1/2hp Goulds pump
    By frankc103 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-15-2012, 01:18 PM
  2. Well pump setup questions
    By Goonberry in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-16-2012, 09:21 PM
  3. Will this shallow well Jet pump setup work?
    By tuckerdog in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 01:52 PM
  4. Submersible vs. Jet Pump Setup
    By jdoll42 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-08-2008, 01:00 PM
  5. Need Well Pump Setup Advice
    By chetwynd in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-07-2007, 12:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •