(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: changing my pressure switch on my well/trol tank

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default changing my pressure switch on my well/trol tank

    Hi I was wondering if you could give some info on changing my pressure switch. It is sticking and my pressure to my home goes high to no water at all. If I tap it it kicks on. Everything seems ok except the switch. When I took off the cover it looks like the points are burnt or just really corroded. My pressure switch is 30-50. I have a new one and I'm going to replace it. So here's my question. When I turn off the breaker and shut off the valve that the water flows through on my tank, there is no where to drain some water out. I know all the wiring and how to take everything apart to replace it, but I'm afraid once i remove the old switch water is going to go everywhere. Do I just let it drain from a faucet? But it still makes me think there will be water in the tank. Please help if you can.

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Surely there must be a drain at the tank Tee and possibly a shutoff between the tank and the house? You need to drain it at a lower point than where the pressure switch is. Shutting off the house above will keep all the house plumbing from draining down.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    There is no drain plug on the tank anywhere. and where the shut off valve is, next to the pressure switch, i see most people have a place where the hose can attach to it. Mine is not like that.

  4. #4
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Then turn off the breakers to the pump and the water heater and open the lowest faucet there is. After the tank has drained as much as possible, close the faucet and close the valve at the tank. Be prepared for some water to come out when removing the pressure switch. Inspect the small nipple that the switch is screwed onto as they often plug up with minerals.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    ok Thanks so much!! after I get the new pressure switch on it, what would be my next step to fill the water back up? Turn on breaker & open valve???

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    oh and also you're saying to shut off all the valves upstairs to all the other faucets, so that water stays in the system Correct?

  7. #7
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by suzyQ View Post
    oh and also you're saying to shut off all the valves upstairs to all the other faucets, so that water stays in the system Correct?

    Turn OFF and Verify that power is OFF to the pump and Water heater.

    Open only 1 faucet (cold only) closest to your tank location. A outside faucet that does not go thru your water softener would be best to use.

    After the pressure drops you can remove the old switch. Water may dribble for a bit because the tank has water above the switch level. That is fine and will let you see the line is not plugged with debris.

    Replace the switch and leave that same faucet open, turn the pump power back on. (Teflon type tape on the switch nipple is good to use.)

    You will have air and maybe/probably iron from the tank coming out of the faucet. Run water at same faucet until it is clear.

    Turn power back on to water heater after your tank is filled.


    If you are lucky most of your plumbing will still be holding water, the iron and air will have all passed to that 1 opened faucet. A faucet at the tank can help avoid putting Iron that has settled in the tank into your home plumbing. Makes flushing the tank easy also. It is one more thing to protect from freezing in your area, that maybe why you don't have one.


    Good Luck.
    Last edited by DonL; 03-06-2013 at 04:08 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  8. #8
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    the only breaker i see on my box is well pump. when u say water heater there is no breaker switch to that. there is a valve just above my water heater?

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Name:  DSC06011.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  38.8 KBName:  DSC06014.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  27.6 KB

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    heres my electrical panel. I dont see anything to my water heater!!!Name:  DSC06017.jpg
Views: 148
Size:  37.4 KB

  11. #11
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    Water heater is gas, not electric so set it on vacation mode.

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    ok thank you!!!!

  13. #13
    DIY Junior Member suzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Got it switched and everything is perfect!!! Thank you all for the help!!

  14. #14
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by suzyQ View Post
    Got it switched and everything is perfect!!! Thank you all for the help!!

    Good deal. Sorry for the water heater confusion. It is just a safety precaution, I did not know if you have gas or electric. Killing power to a Gas Heater with electronic ignition works also.


    Nice work.


    Terry Love's site is great. Thanks Terry.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. Well-X-Trol WX-102 Pressure tank issue!?? Need confirmation
    By Bassett72 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-14-2011, 07:23 AM
  2. Low water pressure after changing pressure switch.
    By cbr1grand in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2011, 06:48 AM
  3. Changing tank to switch line on bore well tank
    By Jester in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2011, 12:47 PM
  4. Well-trol pressure tank wx 202 operating pressure question
    By tlpayne in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 03:02 AM
  5. key point to changing pressure switch?
    By lainey365 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-27-2007, 04:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •