(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: I made a mess.

  1. #1

    Default I made a mess.

    Hey guys

    I have been reading for a while but now I need some help. I have. 7 yr old lowes water softner that i bought new and added to my home. I had to install it In The lower level garage where there was a concrete floor. I have no basement. So I ran the plastic drain hose up into the ceiling and attached it to the closest thing i could find, my furnace condensate line that also goes into the septic, not outside like a normal condensate. . So I am noticing the salt discharge is starting to affect the furnace and I need to get it fixed fast. I could kick myself..

    Live and learn.

    Anyway. How can i drain this softner with no floor drain available. I absolutely need a softner because of my well water and I have a rinnai tankless. They don't recommend it being installed without a softner.

  2. #2

    Default

    If pictures would help i could probably come up with some...

  3. #3
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Yeah, hooking it up to the furnace condensate is not recommended.

    If you have adequate water pressure, above 50 PSI, some softener drains can be run fairly high. It is not ideal, but most Fleck and Clack units can be run over 10-15 feet with little concern if the drain line size is adequate. Some systems can not be run very high at all. Anyone remebre the Siata valve by Pentair? That thing would gag if you put the drain line 1 foot up!

    The higher the water pressure, the more likely you will be successful in running the drain higher.

  4. #4
    Test, Don't Guess! cacher_chick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Land of Cheese
    Posts
    3,142

    Default

    Some places allow the softener discharge to go through the wall to drain into the yard. If there are any plumbing fixtures nearby, the drain can be plumbed into another fixture's drain. If the fixture drain is far away, the drain could be plumbed to a standpipe into a sink pump, piped to the building drain.

  5. #5

    Default

    I ran a new line not connected to the condensate. It still runs uphill about 7 or 8 feet. Thanks

  6. #6
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    You should test the unit. Simply put it into regeneration and make sure the water is drawn from the brine tank in about 10-20 minutes when the system goes into brine draw.

Similar Threads

  1. Well is a mess
    By smith887 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 10:38 AM
  2. Fixing someones mess!
    By e-tek in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 09:56 PM
  3. Please help with this BIG mess
    By biz64 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 01:31 PM
  4. A real mess
    By pick in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 07:00 PM
  5. What a Mess, How to Repair?
    By molo in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-10-2008, 07:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •