(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Testing Fleck 7000 flow meter advice?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member cartman13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    4

    Default Testing Fleck 7000 flow meter advice?

    Hi,

    I have a Fleck 7000 head about 1 year old. It's no longer registering flow which I gather either means it's a stuck turbine, bad cord, or bad circuit board.

    I was wondering if the gurus here might have advice on how to isolate which is causing the issue w/o disconnecting the plumbing to reveal the turbine itself?

    Any help or advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Easy to do.

    Remove the sensor from the back of the valve on the outlet (attached to the end of the meter cable) and run a small magent up and down across the sensor, if the board shows water flow, it is a turbine issue. Depending on the age, water quality, and flow rates the meter regularly sees, the turbine can become worn. You can remove the turbine from the shaft and clean it carefully. An obstruction (gravel, debris, piece of wood etc) can cause the turbine to not spin under water flow as well.

    The link in my signature shows you how to get to the meter.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member cartman13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks, I tried this with a bike spoke magnet and with a stronger rare earth magnet. None seemed to register.

    Everything else works fine. When I feel the water turning hard and I manually set it to regenerate overnight it cycles and we have soft water again in the morning.

    Question is do the sensors cables go bad?

    Or will I need to replace the circuit board? I read steady 18v pos to neg on the meter plug and 12v neg to ground and only 6v positive to ground. (Not sure if that means anything).

    Thanks again for the help.



    Quote Originally Posted by ditttohead View Post
    Easy to do.

    Remove the sensor from the back of the valve on the outlet (attached to the end of the meter cable) and run a small magent up and down across the sensor, if the board shows water flow, it is a turbine issue. Depending on the age, water quality, and flow rates the meter regularly sees, the turbine can become worn. You can remove the turbine from the shaft and clean it carefully. An obstruction (gravel, debris, piece of wood etc) can cause the turbine to not spin under water flow as well.

    The link in my signature shows you how to get to the meter.

  4. #4
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The sensor cables can go bad. It is more likely the cable than the board, or it could also be a programming issue. Do you have the valve programmed as a metered valve?

    The cable is part # 19791-01, whoever you bought the system from should be able to get a new cable for you. I would replace that before I went to tthe control board.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member cartman13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Really appreciate the help. Too bad they don't have a way to check the cable with a multimeter. The program is set to t1.0 for the flow meter. Oddly it doesn't have the t1.2 option that I see mentioned elsewhere. It's also set to use meter delayed cycle and shows the gallons left that never change like they used to. So pretty sure something pooped out either cable or board.

  6. #6
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Reconnect the cable to the turbine and then push/pull the wires on the plug on the other end of the cable where it attaches to the circuit board. Run softened water in a tub as you do that and watch the screen. If it doesn't count down, pull that plug off the board and plug it back in a few times and see if that gets it to cont down.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

Similar Threads

  1. New fleck 7000 sxt questions
    By Steve424 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-04-2012, 01:31 PM
  2. Programming Fleck 7000 SXT
    By WolfB in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 04:53 AM
  3. Fleck 7000 Problem
    By ArayT in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 11:04 PM
  4. Help Programming a Fleck 7000 SXT
    By batboy in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 09-03-2010, 06:43 PM
  5. fleck 7000 or clack ?? help
    By gerrythegreat in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-24-2006, 08:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •