Newbie here! problem getting water from my lake

Users who are viewing this thread

MUGSHOT

Reaction score
Hi there,

I live in south florida with a lake behind my house. I have a 2 hp goulds pump and it sits above the water line and it is mounted 100 feet from the lake. I ran 2' inch pvc to the back with a horizontal check valve at 80 feet. My strainer sits about 15 feet into the lake submerged. I can not get the water to come up, I dont know if the check valve has to be put in the end where the strainer is. I have been searching on here for my issues but havent found anything that explains my situation.
Thanks in advance

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
You have to fill that line and the pump full of water before it will pump. If you have any high spots in the suction line it is almost impossible to get the air out. The foot valve is all you need, it is just hard to draw water from that far away.

MUGSHOT

Reaction score
Thank you,

So instead of the check valve at the end, all I need is the foot valve or both?

Yes, I have high points all the way to the back, it is about three feet above the
lake water.

MUGSHOT

Reaction score
Well,

I bought the foot valve and installed it. I primed the pump and hit the switch, all I brought was the water left in the line from the city water. I did it a few times and nothing happened, now I am totally lost! Why is it that my 2 hp gator pump does not open the valve to let the lake water in? I am priming it on the inlet side, what else could I try before I call an expert? thank you in advance

Craigpump

In the Trades
Reaction score
Are you putting the water into the top port on the pump?

How much water are you putting into the pump?

Are you allowing all the air to burp out before putting the plug in and turning the pump on? If there is any air in the suction line the pump will not pick up prime.