(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 17 of 17

Thread: question about amps

  1. #16
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,773

    Default

    My Arris Cable modem takes 115vac right into it and has its own DC power supply built into it. My Netgear WNDR3400 Cablevision Router has an external 115 VAC Plug in unit which puts out 12VDC and plugs into the Netgear router.

    The important thing is to match the Power type (AC or DC) and the polarity of the plug matching the receptacle on the modem as to plus and minus pins. Of course this has been said several times here already, methinks
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  2. #17
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    As an aside, one of the reasons for so many devices running on "wall wart" cubes..... anything running on 120 VAC has to be listed by UL or ETL or CSA. That listing process requires design considerations and many thousands of $$$$$$$$$$ for the application and cert. process. So you make 60 gazillion warts, which you get listed. The 12 volt device they feed does not require listing.


    Follow up: I noticed that my DSL modem, 12 volts, IS UL listed. That may be because it is also connected to the phone line. Or, I may not have the whole story straight! I am blaming the chemo~!
    Last edited by jimbo; 01-18-2013 at 08:27 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. What would cause a gas furnace to draw too many amps?
    By kailor in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 06:23 AM
  2. Amps/kilowatts follow GPM?
    By chas2010 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 10:09 AM
  3. Not enough amps for Toto Neorest/Now what?
    By Janjan in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:00 AM
  4. Not enough amps for Toto Neorest/Now what?
    By Janjan in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 11:01 AM
  5. 30 amps through #12 wire?
    By leejosepho in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •