(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Grundfos CU 301 problem

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member ryanpilotdave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Burley, ID
    Posts
    1

    Angry Grundfos CU 301 problem

    New to this and I know this has been covred but I can't find what I am loking for. My mother has a 12 yr old house in south central Idaho. The well contractor installed a CU301 and aSQE pump. For several years now she has had a problem with hot water (tested last week at 105* for over 5 minutes at the well head from the hydrant) and huge power bills. The well company came out for a service call and replaced one burned up pump. Not long later hot water again a big power bills. My thought is a continous running pump. Tech comes out and "tested" the system by opening the hydrant and in 5 minutes the water as cold, nothing wrong system works fine thank for the $65. I have been a millwright for a long time and I clled BS on that. He never put a amp meter on the circut or got under the house to check th control. He said it was fine. The pump went out in 7 months so they come out with a new one. Good thing we are coverd by a warranty. Here we go in a matter of 2 months again with hot water and big power bill.

    The well contractor tells my mom it is a Hot Water Tank issue and not their system. I finally had enough and made the drive over. Very first thing is an amp test and we have 6.5 amps continous with no call for water. I go open the hydrant and get 105* for over 5 minutes before cooling down (coulda had a hot tub) I then get under the house and inspect the system. No inicator lights on control, no response when trying to turn off with the on/off button. Trouble shooting says control is bad!

    The well contractor tells me it is the hot water tank again. He never has had hot water from a well from a running pump!!!!!!!! WHAT??????? well, there is no way a hot water tank can back charge a well with that temp or gallonage.

    Can this CU 301 fail in the on position??? All I have read usually states that failure results in no water? What exactly do I need to do to change the system to something better without having to replace the pump right now?

    Thanks for any help.... Dave

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    714

    Default

    The EASY way to fix this is to put a regular pressure switch on in place of the transducer and controller

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member craigpump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    ct
    Posts
    714

    Default

    That's easy. Remove the controller & transducer and put in a regular pressure switch. The pump will then operate like a regular submersible pump.

    Damn, now I can't remove this 2nd post!
    Last edited by craigpump; 01-08-2013 at 05:35 PM.

  4. #4

Similar Threads

  1. Yes, another Grundfos problem
    By joepfeiffer in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-09-2011, 03:35 PM
  2. Grundfos system problem
    By vnvet in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-03-2009, 07:37 AM
  3. grundfos mq-45
    By fordfitz in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-06-2007, 01:51 PM
  4. grundfos MQ 35
    By six mile lakes in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-18-2007, 07:30 AM
  5. GRundfos jpf 5a
    By diverherb in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-06-2007, 05:48 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •