Basement remodel - bathroom DWV review?

Users who are viewing this thread

whoiswes

Reaction score
Hello all,

Disclaimer: I'm not a professional. I've reviewed the MN plumbing code to the best of my ability but I am far from certain that my plans are correct. If I have made an obvious mistakes, you have my apologies in advance.

I've been planning our basement finishing project for the past few months, and am ready to file for permits. I have some questions regarding my DWV layout.

So, what we have currently is a laundry/utility room. I've taken pictures of the room from the four corners to give perspective, and have photoshopped in some outlines as to where we want things to go. I also have the overhead view of the room in it's current state, what we envision the final state to be, and the all-important DWV view. I'm attaching the layout and DWV views, but all photos are available for viewing here

A few specific notes:

1. The kitchen/upstairs bath drain system was going to be replaced since I was already doing a ton of concrete work. There aren't any changes, per-se, just new pipe and cleanouts since the existing cleanouts are frozen up. It's more preventative maintenance than anything else...unless someone thinks it's a complete waste of time.

2. The existing 4" main stack reduces to a 2" pipe immediately above the main floor toilet connection, as seen in one of the pictures. I'm planning on ripping the entire stack out and going 4" straight up through the roof. I have access to the stack on the main floor wet wall through the back of a closet, and we have an open attic, thankfully.

3. If you have any feedback on the overall layout of the room, please feel free to comment.

My questions are:

1. the 2" drain that includes the whirlpool/tub and laundry will be 2" - I'd like to get that bumped to 4" prior to the toilet connection. How best to handle this?