(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 19 of 19

Thread: 7000SXT water softner system not working

  1. #16
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The 40K is throwing me on this one. A 9x42 tank maxes out properly at .75 cu. ft, but a lot of companies put 1 cu. ft. into them. I do not know of any companies that put 1.25 Cu. ft. into a 9x42 tank. That would basically fill the tank, no freeboard and no gravel. Let me think on this one.

  2. #17
    Aspiring Old Fart, EE, computer & networking geek Mikey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scarpwi View Post
    There is a plastic "sleeve" around the tank itself and a black plastic base the tank sits in so it is a little hard to get an exact measurement.
    Measure the circumference, using a flexible tape (a cloth tailor's tape works great) or a string, then divide by 3.14.

  3. #18
    DIY Junior Member scarpwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Would it help me to find any other serial number, model number or something? If I took some digital pictures of my installation would that be of any value to you? Name:  soft3.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  54.6 KBName:  soft1.jpg
Views: 57
Size:  55.6 KBName:  soft2.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  63.4 KB

  4. #19
    Water systems designer, R&D ditttohead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,707
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    The most important part for accurate and efficient programming is the media amount. How much resin is inside the tank. If they say it is a 40K system, then the prgramming guide above should be accurate.

    I assume you left the old 3 valve bypass in place. Gate valves... neat. The system has a built in bypass so the 3 valve was not needed.

    Measure the circumfrence of the jacket as Mikey said, I can figure it out from there. That looks like a 10" tank, but it is really hard to tell from a picture. I could definetly be wrong.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-17-2012, 08:59 AM
  2. culligan estate 2 water softner not working properly??
    By jstephens in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-10-2012, 09:58 PM
  3. Sizing a new Softner System
    By Phillbo in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2011, 07:18 AM
  4. Kinetico System Not Working At All.
    By Nomad in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-14-2011, 03:05 PM
  5. 2 stations not working on my Rainbird system
    By BT1911 in forum Irrigation / Sprinkler Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-27-2008, 09:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •