(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Little help with pump motor

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member tedder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NB
    Posts
    3

    Default Little help with pump motor

    Hey all. Nice place you have here. Attempting to switch this motor over from 110V to 220V for obvious reasons. Not sure why anyone would hook up a motor of this size (1HP) to 110V. Currently wired to panel to 15A single pole breaker on 14/2 copper.
    New 15A double pole breaker purchased for 220V and installed in panel...and yes I wrapped the neutral wire with black tape! As you can see from the photo the wiring in the motor is set up for 110V.
    I moved black wire from L2 (feed from pressure switch) to #4 terminal and violet wire from #4 to #3 terminal. Turned power on, motor just hummed and internal overload protection kicked the motor off. Obviously I'm missing something and hope some of you guru's can point me in the right direction.
    Cheers
    Tedder
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    In the Trades Texas Wellman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SE Texas-Coastal
    Posts
    487

    Default

    Check to see if you've really got 220V at the motor. The breakers need to be on different busses in the box to give you 110V each but on a different phase.

    Also the incoming lines, L1 and L2 do not move, only move the internal lines.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member tedder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NB
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Texas Wellman View Post
    Check to see if you've really got 220V at the motor. The breakers need to be on different busses in the box to give you 110V each but on a different phase.

    Also the incoming lines, L1 and L2 do not move, only move the internal lines.
    Thanks for this. Yes it's a DP breaker in the panel so 110V on each wire. Based on what you are telling me I believe the violet wire needs to move to terminal 3 and the black wire (going to motor and not the feed wire) needs to be moved to where the violet wire WAS. L1 and L2 remain where they are.
    Tedder

  4. #4
    In the Trades Texas Wellman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SE Texas-Coastal
    Posts
    487

    Default

    Just because it's a DP breaker does not guarantee that it is seeing 220VAC. Each breaker needs to be on a different leg of your incoming power, not just 110V on each leg but 110V out of phase with each other. Hard to explain, easy to measure or look at visual. Pull the breaker out (carefully, of course and shut down the main) and look at where it was stabbed. Each breaker needs to be stabbed on a different bus.

    Good luck.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member tedder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NB
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Texas Wellman View Post
    Just because it's a DP breaker does not guarantee that it is seeing 220VAC. Each breaker needs to be on a different leg of your incoming power, not just 110V on each leg but 110V out of phase with each other. Hard to explain, easy to measure or look at visual. Pull the breaker out (carefully, of course and shut down the main) and look at where it was stabbed. Each breaker needs to be stabbed on a different bus.

    Good luck.
    Looks like it is....with this panel I don't see how a DP breaker could NOT have 220V...one leg of 110V from each bus.
    PS - Up and running fine on 220VAC. The key as you mentioned was leaving L1/L2 as is and just moving the violet and
    black internal wires.
    Appreciate your help
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by tedder; 11-22-2012 at 02:34 PM.

  6. #6
    In the Trades Texas Wellman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SE Texas-Coastal
    Posts
    487

    Default

    Glad you got it going. I have been tricked by the breaker panel thing before, but I can't remember exactly which brand.

  7. #7
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,684

    Default

    Measuring 220 between the two wires would be easier than opening the panel. Mentioning that you have 110 on each leg only raises doubts.

Similar Threads

  1. pump motor
    By rosietan in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2011, 05:56 AM
  2. Cast iron motor adpater cracked Goulds Motor Apapter Part#1K310
    By on02151blueline in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 03-18-2010, 04:56 PM
  3. Proper Pump/Motor for Well?
    By jricha34 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-23-2009, 05:08 AM
  4. Pump motor problem
    By hippodrome in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 08:22 AM
  5. Jet Pump with PSC Motor
    By Bob NH in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-31-2005, 09:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •