(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Kinetico Model 60 Issue with Softness

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member ERS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5

    Default Kinetico Model 60 Issue with Softness

    Im in Arizona, just south east of Phoenix( Gilbert) .
    A little background
    Ive had a Kinetico Model 60 on the house for a couple years. A friend gave it to me when he moved out of his house and didn't want to take it with him. I would guess that it is about 12-14 years old, but it is virtually perfect condition on the outside at least.
    It is plumbed in on the outside of the house in the backyard( behind the block fence) to the main line coming into the house. ( i have a line plumbed from the untreated side that runs to the irrigation and pool which i can adjust)
    Its worked pretty well as far as i can tell but in the last recent months i have noticed the the softness of the water has been less and less, and irt seems that it kind of cycles between producing fairly soft water to not soft water at all.
    I suspect one tank has very inefficient media( gone bad) and the other is getting there.
    I never lose water flow.
    If i regenerate each tank a couple times the softness level seems to go back up for up to a couple weeks.

    Ive changed the media i a softener before, along with the gravel and dont think it will be to difficult to do in this case.( i understand these dont use a gravel bed) BUT, i want to make sure that is the issue.
    what else should i check? ( it seems to function fine as far as cycling and drawing brine).

    If nothing of if what i check out proves to be a non issue and i want to replace the media, what is the best media to use and why?
    here the TDS is 400-1200
    here is a link the water quality report for the town for other information:
    http://www.gilbertaz.gov/pw/pdf/WaterQualRep2011.pdf

    Thanks for any direction

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    663

    Default

    It could be the resin or the disc is not the correct for the hardness of your water. According to my manual, you should have a # 3 disc for your compensated hardness. You can also check the resin to see if it's bad. Get a sample and pinch it between your thumb and finger. If it smashes up or feels like mush, it's bad.

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member ERS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Since the unit was originally sold in this area i would guess the disk is correct, but that said it is 12 + years old, maybe something has changed in the water since then, but AFAIK the water has always been very hard here. Can i tell which disk is there from looking in through the top of the control valve?
    Also do the heads just spin off the top of the tanks( to get to the resin?)

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    663

    Default

    Yes on both counts. You should be able to read the disc # through the clear cap on top of the main valve. The valve spins off to be able to get a sample of resin.

  5. #5
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,938

    Default

    If the resin is good you might want to add iron out or similar product to the brine tank and do back to back regenrations.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member ERS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I can see a "water meter" wheel in the control head, it has a #2 on opposite sides , those are the only numbers i can see so i presume then it is a #2 disk.
    So the question is, how, does that affect the softness level of the water coming out of the unit.

    I wont be able to get a resin sample till the weekend( i hope).

    Tom Sawyer..
    What leads you to think it could be an Iron issue? Is there something in the water report i linked to?

Similar Threads

  1. Kinetico Model 60 won't draw
    By GaryG in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 08:30 AM
  2. kinetico model 60
    By ChadI in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 08:39 AM
  3. kinetico model 30 help
    By hattrick37 in forum Water Softener Forum, problems, installation and reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 06:55 AM
  4. kinetico model 30 help
    By hattrick37 in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 06:55 AM
  5. Kinetico model 60
    By ErikM in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 09:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •