(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Well Setup Question

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Snakebit12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2

    Default Well Setup Question

    I could use some explanation on the well setup on a property that we recently acquired.

    Here is what we know:
    1. There are two pressure tanks on the property - one is in the basement and the other is in the horse stable.
    2. We have one well.
    3. There are well breakers in the fuse boxes in both the basement and stable.
    4. The stable was built and the well drilled before the house was built.
    4. If you fill the horse tank from the stable spigot, the water pressure drops on both pressure tanks although they each seem to level off around 40 PSI.
    5. When the pump kicks in, the house tank goes to 60 PSI; the stable tank to 80 PSI.
    6. There is a disconnected wire wrapped around the well head.


    Based on this fact pattern, this is my theory:

    1. The wiring in the stable was to run the pump before the house was built so that the stable had water.
    2. When the house was built and the basement pressure tank installed, the wire from the stable was disconnected and wrapped around the well head (I should turn off the well pump breaker in the stable).
    3 A wire was run from the basement pressure tank to the well pump.
    3. A water line was run from the house to the stable through the stable pressure tank to increase the pressure at the stable faucet which is 150' from the house.

    Are my conclusions reasonable?

    John (aka Snakebit12)
    Last edited by Snakebit12; 10-02-2012 at 11:55 AM.

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,171

    Default

    Sounds about right. The pressure tank at the stable is showing higher pressure probably because of friction loss in the line between the two tank. Other than that I don't see any problems. Are you having issues with the way it works?

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member Snakebit12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2

    Default

    No issues per se...was hoping to eliminate the stable tank from the process as it is susceptible to freezing. But I suspect that the water pressure in the stable would suffer so I'll try a heat lamp during cold weather.

    Thanks for your response.

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,171

    Default

    It should not be a problem to remove the stable tank. Except that without a CSV, less pressure tank storage means your pump will cycle more often.

  5. #5
    DIY Member bcpumpguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Langley BC
    Posts
    70

    Default

    5. When the pump kicks in, the house tank goes to 60 PSI; the stable tank to 80 PSI.

    if you do not use any water after the pump kicks on do they even out to the same pressure? where is the pressure switch?

Similar Threads

  1. Question on replacement backup and primary setup.
    By Slartibartfast in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 05:52 AM
  2. Low yield setup question
    By ratkillingdog in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-18-2010, 06:37 AM
  3. Rewiring setup question.
    By ingeborgdot in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 08:25 PM
  4. Question How's this Filter setup
    By mswanson in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 04:31 PM
  5. question about basement bathroom setup
    By pastfast125 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-21-2005, 12:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •