(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Dual head video cards?

  1. #1
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Dual head video cards?

    Has anyone used a "dual head" video card for two monitors, and which one is it?

    I do a lot of video editing, and could use the extra screen for that. I'm thinking a couple LCD's side by side.
    http://www.evga.com/products/moreinf...4-AX&family=22
    Last edited by Terry; 01-22-2007 at 10:46 PM.

  2. #2
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,382

    Default

    I haven't personally used that type of setup, but several people at work do. They say, once you do it, you won't want to go back to a single dislpay. One of my friends has three large plasma displays on his computer - he monitors numerous servers simultaneously...just depends on how much you want to spend.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member rshackleford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Eastern Montana (The Bakken)
    Posts
    284

    Default

    I have been doing this with my laptop. Two monitors are great. I don't want to go back. I just have the standard issue shared graphics with my centrino. My setup works pretty good without the addition of a video card. I am not familar with the hardware you described.
    Last edited by rshackleford; 01-03-2006 at 08:44 AM.
    rshackleford

  4. #4

    Default

    I've been running dual monitors with the NVIDIA GeForce 6200 for several months. It's reasonably priced and powers my twin-19"-ers without any problems.

  5. #5
    Sound and Light Suppervisor for a School District tjbaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    162

    Default Dual monitor

    I have had dual monitor since the days of Win98. I canīt go back! Now I run Linux with dual head. I know Win XP and I think 2K can do dual monitors with just 2 normal vid cards. Just add a new card and go. Although I would guess the cost of dual head cards has drooped. One other note If you have a built in vid card that shares system ram it may not be dual head compatible. In that case just get the dual head card and disable the internal one.

    Tom B

  6. #6
    Master Plumber Dunbar Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area
    Posts
    2,943

    Default Took a while to find this

    I was debating going with dual monitors and instead I've decided to go with a 30" Dell monitor.

    It's getting good reviews and my current monitor is the box type 17" with 15" viewing screen.

    This new flat screen "should" allow me to size the screen edge to edge no problems.........or open up numerous windows and tile them.

    I'm just sick and tired of sizing my windows out and using the scroll bars.


    I'm thinking this is a fix that will never break from there on out.

    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...9&sku=222-0863
    Read what the end of this sentence means.

  7. #7
    Plumber Cass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    5,984

    Default

    I have never used a dual head video card.

    I am building a dual core computer right now though. I'll let you know how well it works when I'm done.

  8. #8
    Master Plumber Dunbar Plumbing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Northern Kentucky/Greater Cincinnati Area
    Posts
    2,943

    Default

    Well I didn't end up with the 30" screen, went with the smaller 24" Ultrasharp and bought a 20" flat screen for another computer. In total I spent $400 less than the one posted and got 2 monitors for two different computers.
    Read what the end of this sentence means.

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Santee, CA
    Posts
    13

    Default Depends on what you want it to do..

    You have the option of running two cards for two monitors (one AGP and one PCI or both PCI or both AGP) or using a dual monitor card.
    Issues you will encounter will single dual monitor card... Memory will be divided between the monitors so heavy apps may show strain. If you have a newer motherboard, you may have two spc slots or two agp slots. If this is the case you can insert two cards and bridge them together to run as one card. That is my current setup and it screams in all aspects.

    If you are doing just general daily things with your PC a single dual monitor card will serve you just fine.

  10. #10
    DIY Member zimmee66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Des Moines, Iowa
    Posts
    43

    Default re: dual head video

    I've been "dual-monitoring" since about 1988 and actually feel sort of lost and uncomfortable with a single screen.

    Giant monitors are nifty but expensive, often have color issues, and are a single (pricey) point of failure, I find two monitors around 19-20" the ideal setup for most anything we need to do. Only a few projects require us to use our larger monitor setups rather than a dual setup. For day-to-day work, even 17-inch is workable for many uses, and its pretty cheap to buy 17" flat-panels these days.

    For image or audio work its great to be able to have controls on one screen and working image/target file on the other. Another cool thing is running side-by-side revisions for comparison, running different application or OS versions side-by-side for testing, side-by-side comparison of page rendering in different browsers---You will find endless ways to use it!

    Dual-display just isnt that expensive anymore. Unless you want to game, performance isn't even that much of an issue. The fairly affordable, low-end NVIDIA GeForce 6200 does the job for many of our staff.

    I agree that using two sgood quality, seperate cards is usually the most effective route. You do pay a premium for dual head cards.

    If you use windows you may want to consider a little software add-on called UltraMon, which expands some configuration options.

    http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/overview/

    Mac and most Linux distros already have such tweaks built-in.

    I'm curious to hear how it goes, I hope you'll update us!
    Last edited by zimmee66; 02-09-2007 at 09:58 PM.

  11. #11
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,191
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I wound up getting dual 19" LCD for my work stations.
    Data entry is much quicker now, and less paper printed out and wasted.
    I'm using dual DVI cards with DVI montiors.
    With the 19" I don't have to strain to see the text even on the 1280 by 1024 pixel setting.

    The Lasik has been very good, but in bad light, I still use a very weak reading glass somtimes. With the 19"'s I don't need them.

    I went with the Invidia chips, The 7600 GT KO on one and 7900 GT on the other.

    That last link on UltraMon looks interesting.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •