Utility Sink plugs up - bad design?

Users who are viewing this thread

GMZoo

Reaction score
I have very little experience with plumbing. :( I have a 10 yr old home with septic located on east end of house, kitchen-laundry-garage utility sink on west end of house. Also garage where utility sink sits is lower elevation than kitchen/laundry by about 4' 2". Laundry plumbing shares wall with utility sink. Utility sink plumbing comes directly out of cinder-block garage/foundation wall, making it difficult to see or get to. Utility sink regularly clogs, and has been cleared by several plumbers. Water originally seemed to sit directly in the utlity sink drain, almost leeching into the tub. Each time, plumber indicates major update to utility sink plumbing is required to fix this "RIGHT", expensive due to cinder-block install. :( Last visit, the plumber raised the utility sink using 4x4 blocks under the four legs. This helped the standing water problem, but again the drain is clogged and won't clear with plunger.
Plumbers have indicated that laundry drains into west end of yard vice into the septic system. How is this determined? What should I look for to confirm? Suspect this is not true because kitchen waste seems mixed in with laundry water when it backed up again last night. Kitchen waste should be going to the septic, we believe.... :confused:

I could add picture, if requested.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score