(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Is my 240v line working?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Columbus, GA
    Posts
    3

    Default Is my 240v line working?

    Below is a picture of my main breaker box on the side of my house. The double breaker there goes to my pool breaker box. My multimeter reads 240v when I check the red and black wires in the picture (called main breaker box).

    In main breaker box:
    Black to red is240v
    Black to ground is 120v
    Red to ground is 120v



    However when I check the red and black wires into the pool breaker box, I am only getting a reading of 120v. Shouldn't I get a reading of 240v just like the main breaker box? Reason I am asking is that my 240v pool pump and polaris pump are not working any more after an electrical storm last night . . . I have already replaced the pool pump motor with a new one . .

    In pool breaker box:
    Black to Red is 120v
    Black to white is 0v
    Red to White is 120v
    Black to ground is 0v
    Red to ground is 120v
    White to ground is 0v

    Thanks for any help you can give me!

  2. #2
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    There is some kind of problem. Black to red should be 240.. You are good at the box and not out at the load.

    There are too many questions here....you need an electrician. We don't know why there is a white lead out there. Pure 240 loads are 2 hots and the ground, so you have some 120 going on. Don't get hurt...get help!

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Columbus, GA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the quick response. (And I don't know why my pictures did not post. Probably file size is too large.)

    I will take your advice and call an electrician. I am clearly out of my comfort zone here.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Columbus, GA
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Mystery solved. Electrician diagnosed the problem: The black lead has apparently been cut between the main breaker box and the pool breaker box. Have rewired with new 10/3 UF wire and all is working . Now just need to bury the wire.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Newbie2012 View Post
    Mystery solved. Electrician diagnosed the problem: The black lead has apparently been cut between the main breaker box and the pool breaker box. Have rewired with new 10/3 UF wire and all is working . Now just need to bury the wire.
    Bury it deep.

  6. #6
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    As above - but most certainly in CONDUIT. Or someone will get hurt or you'll do it again.

  7. #7
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ballvalve View Post
    As above - but most certainly in CONDUIT. Or someone will get hurt or you'll do it again.
    People want to save the cost and trouble.

    Some yellow caution tape is a very good idea.

  8. #8
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    Yellow caution tape for your 8 year old with a hammer and stake, or shovel? Or you with a shovel? Not to mention the same gopher that got the first cable will love the second. Or maybe LA doesnt have gophers OR pumps. Conduit is about 12 cents a foot.

  9. #9
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ballvalve View Post
    Yellow caution tape for your 8 year old with a hammer and stake, or shovel? Or you with a shovel? Not to mention the same gopher that got the first cable will love the second. Or maybe LA doesnt have gophers OR pumps. Conduit is about 12 cents a foot.
    Don't get me wrong. I would insist on conduit.

    The burial stuff needs to go down what? 2'? I can't even remember, because I won't use it.

    If you trench to 2' and fill to 1' and then lay in the caution tape, you have a MARGINALLY safer installation. Nothing compared to conduit.

    Not sure that the OP said a gopher got it, but that is as likely as anything, I suppose.

    And no, not lots of gophers. I got bloody fruit rats which the cat insists on killing and then eating about 3/4 of the way and leaving me to eat the rest, if I want. She is so generous.

    And squirrels. Of course. The bastards just rat-copulated my apricots this year.

    Possums. Again, the possum kits get eaten.

    Raccoons. Take a pretty mean cat to go after a raccoon. Had one die in the back corner of the yard and rot for a few days. Thank the lord that the city will collect those.

    And last summer a skunk walked in the house. How do you frighten a skunk out of your house? YOU DO NOT!

    Been getting whiffs of skunk many nights of late. The cat needs to learn that no means no.
    Last edited by Homeownerinburb; 07-11-2012 at 01:40 PM. Reason: removed ugly word

  10. #10
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,259

    Default

    Under the caution tape lay some junk wood or 2x4 stickers. last a long time buried 2' deep.

  11. #11
    DIY Senior Member Homeownerinburb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA USA
    Posts
    505

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ballvalve View Post
    Under the caution tape lay some junk wood or 2x4 stickers. last a long time buried 2' deep.
    Even better. Pour a little concrete. On top of your plastic conduit. Nearly bullet proof.

Similar Threads

  1. 240V across mains but not across bus bars?
    By ColdShower in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-19-2012, 03:06 PM
  2. How much for a new 240v outlet? (800??)
    By Briandl in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-21-2011, 01:44 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 11:35 PM
  4. Main Water line not working
    By LauraMM in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-18-2008, 06:56 PM
  5. 240v single pole?
    By hids2000 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-11-2007, 07:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •