(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Pump Tech comes on at preset time,but also comes on randomly inbetween

  1. #1
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default Pump Tech comes on at preset time,but also comes on randomly inbetween

    My pumptech is set for 1.5 hr to cycle on.
    i noticed that after it has completed a normal pump run after a preset time, it will turn on once again and pump more water again for a minute or two afterward. It has never done this in the 11 years or so ive monitored it until last week.
    I dont care when it cycles,as long as it is approximately no longer than every 6 hours or so.
    What can i expect from the pump tec in the future? Will it keep keep on for some time or is this a sign that it is about to fail soon?

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,174

    Default

    Could it be that after the 1.5 hours and the pump restarts, that it only takes a minute or two to get to the float switch off point? If not then I think something is wrong with the pumptec.

  3. #3
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Symptoms rephrased( just in case)

    On a normal cycle of 1.5 hr the well pump discharge into the tank will last 3 to 5 minutes at 15 gpm rate. Until recently it never came back on again until the next set cycle time, 1.5 hr, occured again. This is how the well has worked for years.
    NOW after it has completed a cycle and tripped off,in another minute or so it will turn back on and pump more water for another min or so.


    YOUr reply:
    "does it only takes a minute or two to get to the float switch off point? "

    ME:
    The float switch appears to work as it always has.
    The pumptec does turn off when the water is low enough down below in the ground,just like its has always done...except NOW in a minute or so after it shuts off the pump will turn on and discharge more water for a minute or 3.

    Theory?
    maybe the pumptec is turning off prematurely ,and a minute or so later it still senses water below so it turns back on to spit out the remaining water??
    Now that makes sense to me,but what do I know? vewy little
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 06-21-2012 at 09:59 AM.

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,174

    Default

    Try reseting the timer on the pumptec.

  5. #5
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    how to reset timer?

  6. #6
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,174

    Default

    Should be an adjustment for how long it times out.

  7. #7
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default Update on my failing Pump tec

    l.

    Today the PumpTec still starts the preset 1.5 hr pumping cycle and pumping water for its normal time of about 4 minutes,however, now the PumpTec doesnt trip off like its supposed to.
    How I happend to notice this is that something made a loud enough noise when pumping or starting to pump that i could hear it from where i was standing.
    i walked over to it and it was pumping water and quiet at that point.
    I never determined what the loud noise was that drew my attention to the pump.
    Toward the end of its normal pumping time of 3 or 4 minutes I could hear the pumptec clicking a couple times every few seconds,"trying to shut off".,but the red light didnt come on.
    i then peeked at the discharge pipe and there was no longer water being pumped and the trip light was not red.
    .

    Im not sure if the pumptec would eventually trip or not. i didnt want to risk any damage to the well pump ,so.I raised the front cover off the pump tec so it would disconnect from the power .i do it this way because i still need the jet to be on for the pressureized tank.
    I will fill the tank by manually connecting the pump tec ever so often until I can repair or replace it.
    My question.
    1.When the pumptec stops pumping water and doesnt trip off ,this will damage the submersable pump?
    That is the purpose of the pumptec...right?
    2. Is there any way for me to easily repair this pump tec myself.?
    3 Incase i need to get a new one,is there a better unit to replace it with for the same price range? Right!

    Thx



    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    My pumptech is set for 1.5 hr to cycle on.
    i noticed that after it has completed a normal pump run after a preset time, it will turn on once again and pump more water again for a minute or two afterward. It has never done this in the 11 years or so ive monitored it until last week.
    I dont care when it cycles,as long as it is approximately no longer than every 6 hours or so.
    What can i expect from the pump tec in the future? Will it keep keep on for some time or is this a sign that it is about to fail soon?
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 06-28-2012 at 10:02 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,174

    Default

    Yes running the pump without it moving any water will burn up the pump in just a few minutes. You did right by shutting it off. I don't think there is much you can do to repair a pumptec. I maybe a little biased because I designed it myself, but I think the Cycle Sensor is more dependable than a pumptec.

  9. #9
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    I maybe a little biased because I designed it myself, but I think the Cycle Sensor is more dependable than a pumptec.

    Well,thats understandable to be biased.

    Im not biased or partial to any unit until I learn about those units.

    Tell me why you think your unit would or could be a better choice for me.

    The price and ease of installation is important too.

    Thx

  10. #10
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,174

    Default

    The Cycle Sensor digitally displays the amps. So it is easy to see the lowest amps encountered and set the current adjust below that. You can scroll to the exact amp draw you want to be the low setting. Just push the buttons to set it where you want. The Cycle Sensor also displays the word DRY when the well is pumped off, and it has a restart delay that can be set as low as 1 minute or as much as 5 hours.

    Unlike the pumptec where you just hold a button that takes a snap shot, and determines on its own how to set the under current trip point. The sensitivity setting on a pumptec is just a guess.

    The Cycle Sensor was also designed to be accurate enough to work with a Cycle Stop Valve, as that makes the amps even lower than normal. This is the main reason we made our own device, as the others out there are not sensitive and accurate enough to work with the extra low amps from a Cycle Stop Valve. The more sensitive and accurate nature of the Cycle Sensor, along with the easy push button adjustment and digital display, has proven to be superior to the others on the market.

  11. #11
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Since yesterday i have operated the pumptec cycles manually.
    After about 5 manual cycles over a 12 hr period,the pumptec is now working normal. By that I mean it senses when to trip off and does so. It has shut off by tripping now for 3 manual cycles. Does this mean there may be hope for this pumptec?
    Like just a loose wire or something? Guess I could check it first.
    I mean with the little experience I have in electrical items,when they work then dont work,then work.this usually means there is a loose ground or wire of some sort.

    Or do pump tecs just fade away by teasing us with work for a while,then wont,then work a little and so on?

    Does this change back to working normally indicate there may be a small fix it solution for me ?

  12. #12
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,687

    Default

    Unless you know for sure what made it work again, it cannot be trusted not to fail again. Next time you could burn up the pump.

  13. #13
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    Yeah,thats what i assumed,and thats why Im still cycling it manually. If it was winter it wouldnt be so bad,but its 95 to 100 degrees here and i gotta keep my 10 thirsty cottonwoods alive.
    Yeah i know..why plant cottonwoods, in the desert,not in a wet or boggy area?
    For some reason I thought it would be managable. Its June through oct when they need lots of water
    .
    So i better replace it,cause i dont like my new "waterboy" job. plenty of easy hours, but the pays crap!

  14. #14
    CT pump guy Teets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Watertown, Connecticut
    Posts
    87

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Timbuktu View Post
    Yeah,thats what i assumed,and thats why Im still cycling it manually. If it was winter it wouldnt be so bad,but its 95 to 100 degrees here and i gotta keep my 10 thirsty cottonwoods alive.
    Yeah i know..why plant cottonwoods, in the desert,not in a wet or boggy area?
    For some reason I thought it would be managable. Its June through oct when they need lots of water
    .
    So i better replace it,cause i dont like my new "waterboy" job. plenty of easy hours, but the pays crap!
    Is there a float in this system, if there is it sounds like the float is working erratically.

  15. #15
    DIY Member Timbuktu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    PalmSprings SCal
    Posts
    65

    Default

    UPDATE loose wire seems to have been the problem.

    Admittedly i know verly little about anything like this,but i was having such varied problems,i was getting frustrated as you can see with my posts..

    i did recall one thing with my past limited personal electrical lessons.....when the symptoms get out of hand and inconsistent,check the wiring,ground etc. Actually check that first.
    I found a loose screw on one terminal and after tightening it ,I have had no issues the last couple days and several pump cycles.......so far.
    Last edited by Timbuktu; 07-05-2012 at 01:30 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. How to go from 1/2" copper to 1/4" compression fitting, with a ball valve inbetween
    By Studly in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11-06-2011, 01:11 PM
  2. Computer randomly shutting down
    By GabeS in forum Computers and Stuff
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 07:04 AM
  3. *Well Pump keeps shutting off (Rapidaytor) from time to time*
    By h2osho in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 05:53 AM
  4. Reset Pumprtol pressure switch to factory preset levels
    By grider in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2008, 04:13 PM
  5. Preset Factory Voltage
    By kingfisher in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 06:52 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •