(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Sediment in pressure switch

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member jackm1988's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2

    Default Sediment in pressure switch

    Hey Everyone,

    This is my first post to the forum.

    I recently installed a new shallow well in my bakery for water cooled refrigeration. My previous well was installed by a company who did a pretty lousy job, so i decided to install the new one myself. I have a small problem, I've had to replace my pressure switch 2 times since February. I believe there's some ultra fine sediment getting into the pressure switch causing it to stick in the off position. Does anyone know of a solution for this problem??

    I know an inline filter is out of the question, and so is a sand separator before the pump inlet. Is the any kind of different pressure switch i can use?

    Also, I don't know if this would work but what if rather than having the small line from the pump to the switch go one way. Suppose it was tee'd off on both side so the water circulated to the switch and back around? Could that work, maybe it would wash the grit back out?


    Here is what I'm working with:
    5' Johnson Vee-wire stainless well point slot sizes .008". Driven down 25', static water level is about 14' so there is ample water.
    Goulds 1hp jet pump with Square-D 30-50 pressure switch
    Amtrol WX-350 tank (119 gallon)

    Here are a few pics. Thanks in advance people!



    Name:  574 small.jpg
Views: 408
Size:  54.8 KBName:  575 small.jpg
Views: 211
Size:  45.1 KBName:  576 small.jpg
Views: 218
Size:  47.8 KB

  2. #2
    Porky Cutter,MGWC Porky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    727

    Default

    Your well may not be fully developed. I prefer developing wells with an air compressor by running a small air line with a 3' steel npple on the bottom for weight. Turn the air on and pump the well until clear of all sediment.
    NOTE: This may present a problem in your situation because it's going to blow water everywhere!
    Porky Cutter, MGWC
    (Master Ground Water Consultant)

  3. #3
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,156

    Default

    Porky is right. Develope the well and clean up the sand, or the pressure switch is just the first of many problems.

  4. #4
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,681

    Default

    I agree with Porky and valveman. With pumps where the pressure switch does not have to hang off the side of the motor, mounting it higher on a longer 3/8" pipe helps to keep the sediment out.

    BTW, in most jurisdictions, it is a code violation to use an extension cord as permanent wiring. Get a proper outlet wired in.

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member jackm1988's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys. I just looked for some videos on developing because I didn't know what it was. So basically you just shove a compressed air hose down there and let it run??

    Before I connected the jet pump I hand pumped water until it was clear to get everything out.

    @LLigetfa, those pics were before the electrician came. There is a dedicated line for that pump.

  6. #6
    Porky Cutter,MGWC Porky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Posts
    727

    Default

    Hand pumping only pumps a well. Developing a well with air developes a well to it's fullest capacity and brings in and blows out all sediment. Yes, basically blowing a well is just installing an air line in the well and blowing it.
    Porky Cutter, MGWC
    (Master Ground Water Consultant)

Similar Threads

  1. sudden loss of pressure and sediment problem
    By baksw28160 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-08-2011, 07:33 AM
  2. Pressure tank re-pressurized, now I have sediment
    By grose in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 03:47 PM
  3. Super High pressure, but pressure switch appears to work properly
    By yergnov in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 05:14 AM
  4. 2 Houses, 2 Pressure Tanks, 1 pump, 1 controller, 1 pressure switch pro help needed!
    By betaman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 05:07 AM
  5. Removing sediment from Pressure tank
    By dwells in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-17-2007, 08:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •