(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Wiring an Electrical Outlet to Pump Pressure Switch

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member asmart82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    East Orlando FL
    Posts
    8

    Default Wiring an Electrical Outlet to Pump Pressure Switch

    If I have a 3-wire pump, where would I connect the wires for the outlet inside the pressure switch so that the outlet only has power when the pump is on or would I be better off wiring it to the control box?

  2. #2
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asmart82 View Post
    If I have a 3-wire pump, where would I connect the wires for the outlet inside the pressure switch so that the outlet only has power when the pump is on or would I be better off wiring it to the control box?
    120v or 240volt outlet.

    It can be done but may not be safe, and may not meet code.

    What is this Outlet going to be used for ?
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member asmart82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    East Orlando FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    120v or 240volt outlet.

    It can be done but may not be safe, and may not meet code.

    What is this Outlet going to be used for ?
    I believe it is 240v, not sure but I can check. The outlet is going to be for a Stenner Chlorine pump.

    I had the pump hooked directly up to the pressure switch but I would prefer to have it hooked to an outlet and I prefer not to buy a flow switch.

    Here is a diagram for what I am trying to do but I am not sure which wire is which in the diagram. http://www.cleanwaterstore.com/techn...or_startup.pdf
    Last edited by asmart82; 05-09-2012 at 10:59 AM.

  4. #4
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asmart82 View Post
    I believe it is 240v, not sure but I can check. The outlet is going to be for a Stenner Chlorine pump.

    I had the pump hooked directly up to the pressure switch but I would prefer to have it hooked to an outlet and I prefer not to buy a flow switch.

    Here is a diagram for what I am trying to do but I am not sure which wire is which in the diagram. http://www.cleanwaterstore.com/techn...or_startup.pdf

    All of the needed info is in the PDF file.

    It would connect to the same output / switched connections on the pressure switch as your Well Pump.

    If you do not understand the info in your PDF file then you may want a professional to help you.

    Be careful playing with electric.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member asmart82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    East Orlando FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I've got the outlet hooked up. The chemical pump works only when the well pump is on but the power alternates on and off randomly for the chemical pump. Any idea what might be causing this? When I hook the pump up to a normal outlet, it is always on as it should be.

  6. #6
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asmart82 View Post
    I've got the outlet hooked up. The chemical pump works only when the well pump is on but the power alternates on and off randomly for the chemical pump. Any idea what might be causing this? When I hook the pump up to a normal outlet, it is always on as it should be.

    If it is not wired to the proper voltage it may be tripping the pumps internal overload protector.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  7. #7
    DIY Junior Member asmart82's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    East Orlando FL
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    If it is not wired to the proper voltage it may be tripping the pumps internal overload protector.
    You were correct. It was a 120v pump on a 220v outlet. Bought a 220v motor and it fixed the problem. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by asmart82 View Post
    You were correct. It was a 120v pump on a 220v outlet. Bought a 220v motor and it fixed the problem. Thanks!
    Nice that you got it working.

    Enjoy.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  9. #9
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,163

    Default

    You could have made the 115 volt pump work. Just needed one wire to the pressure switch and the other to ground.

  10. #10
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    You could have made the 115 volt pump work. Just needed one wire to the pressure switch and the other to ground.
    That is what I would have done. Or run a new wire with a neutral.

    But to meet code it would have to be connected to a neutral, because it would be a current carrying conductor.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  11. #11
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    That is what I would have done. Or run a new wire with a neutral.

    But to meet code it would have to be connected to a neutral, because it would be a current carrying conductor.
    Don, NO, I don't think you would have connected that wire to ground. I don't know why you even joked about it.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  12. #12
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,163

    Default

    Doesn't the neutral go to the ground bar? Or am I mistaken?

  13. #13
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by valveman View Post
    Doesn't the neutral go to the ground bar? Or am I mistaken?
    Yes, (at the service panel) and that's the ONLY place where they are in effect connected to each other.
    Last edited by BobL43; 06-22-2012 at 04:11 AM.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  14. #14
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,163

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL43 View Post
    Yes, (at the service panel) and that's the ONLY place where they are in effect connected to each other.
    Thanks Bob!

  15. #15
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BobL43 View Post
    Don, NO, I don't think you would have connected that wire to ground. I don't know why you even joked about it.
    I was not joking.

    That is how my 120V heat tape gets power from my Well pump switch for the winter.

    It may not meet code but it works for whatever I want to plug into the 120V outlet.


    Code is for City Slicker folks. We just Git-R-Done on the City Slicker Farms in Texas.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

Similar Threads

  1. pressure switch wiring please help
    By brenjake in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 03:04 AM
  2. wiring 220V Stenner pump to pressure switch
    By Flipperman2a2w in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-28-2011, 07:29 AM
  3. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 08:44 AM
  4. electrical contacts on Pressure switch
    By mrspaceman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 12:43 PM
  5. Electrical outlet question
    By brosnt1 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 04:04 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •