Well pump setup questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Goonberry

Reaction score
I am new to wells and well pumps and hope someone here on the forum could provide some insight or critique what I am trying to do. I have a well on my property that was already there when I build the house and I would like to use it for outside irrigation only. Water level is about 20' from the top of the pipe (6.75" pipe with a 5" pipe inside). I dropped a string down and got to about 200 feet without bottoming out (ran out of string). I would like to keep the project as cost effective as possible, so I want to use a 4" submersible pump dropping it about 100 feet (1/2 hp 10-12 gpm. 2 wire) using 1-1/4" 160 psi poly pipe with a long brass barb connection with no safety rope or torque arrestor. I would size each of the irrigation zones for 10 gpm at 40 psi to avoid any excessive pump cycling.

I would like to do this without a pressure tank? What type of pressure protection if any is needed? Could I still use a pressure swith with a tankless setup?

I would have about 8 zones and water each zone for 30 minutes twice a week.

Would a red lion/little giant pump be sufficient for this setup or are they junk like most of the box store brands?

I have read hundreds of posts on the forum and know that there are numerous people on here with extensive knowledge and experience so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Masterpumpman

In the Trades
Reaction score
Website
www.dci-inc.us
You're on the right track and yep Big Box store pumps are usually junk but cheap and they do work. I'd recommend installing a Pside-Kick. The Pside-Kick includes all that you will need to give you constant pressure for your irrigation system while extending the life of your pump. Go to http://www.cyclestopvalves.com/products.html to see the Pside-Kick. If you can't find it in your area contact Cycle Stop Valves they can assist you. NOTE: Don't purchase a VFD type pump!

Goonberry

Reaction score
Porky.