(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WIFI thermostat - inexpensive solution for remote control

  1. #1
    DIY Senior Member JerryR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    181

    Default WIFI thermostat - inexpensive solution for remote control

    The HD Big Box store sells a thermostat made by Filtrete that connects to your WIFI Internet router.. It allows you to monitor house indoor temp and adjust your thermostat via an iPhone app or via Internet web site remotely from anywhere in the world.

    I installed one in my primary home and one at vacation home. they work great. Even when home I adjust the A/C from my iPhone at my bedside. When traveling between homes I can turn the A/C down before arriving so it is cool when I arrive.

    It is Model 3M50 thermostat by Filtrete and it is only $99.00.

    You can also change programs, set it to hold temp, change it from heat to cool, etc.

    Great device.

    Jerry
    JR

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    Does it trend stats like usage per day/week/month/year?

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,768

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JerryR View Post
    The HD Big Box store sells a thermostat made by Filtrete that connects to your WIFI Internet router.. It allows you to monitor house indoor temp and adjust your thermostat via an iPhone app or via Internet web site remotely from anywhere in the world.

    I installed one in my primary home and one at vacation home. they work great. Even when home I adjust the A/C from my iPhone at my bedside. When traveling between homes I can turn the A/C down before arriving so it is cool when I arrive.

    It is Model 3M50 thermostat by Filtrete and it is only $99.00.

    You can also change programs, set it to hold temp, change it from heat to cool, etc.

    Great device.

    Jerry
    Wow, another neat gadget. I only have one home, and pretty much always there, but it might be nice not to have to walk 15 feet or so to the nearest thermostat. I have 4 heating zones in my house, though and all have setback temps set for various times of the day.

    Does the software address multiple units? Oh yeah, you have 2 in different locations. LOL
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member JerryR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    Does it trend stats like usage per day/week/month/year?

    No, but. There is a third party software that you can load on a PC that poles the thermostat every minute and allows the detail to be exported to a cvs file. It also logs outside temp and humidity based on your zip code location by the minute. The PC needs to be running to log and store the info.

    Jerry
    Last edited by JerryR; 04-04-2012 at 08:57 AM.
    JR

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member JerryR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    181

    Default

    Bump. Update.

    The WiFi thermostats have performed well beyond my expectations. Actually I now never touch them as I find that it is easier to adjust via iPad or iPhone app even when at home.

    It is also nice to be able to monitor indoor temp while away from either house via iPhone app.

    Surprisingly, my wife is just as fond of them as I am. We have the app loaded on my iPhone, her iPhone, my iPhone and our iPad.

    This is some Really cool yet inexpensive useful toy.

    Jerry
    JR

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member brunetmj1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    11

    Default

    What does the wiring on the furnace control board look like ? Wireless capability requires a C (common wire) to run the wirless. Most old homes just have two or three wire
    thermostats.

  7. #7
    DIY Senior Member wjcandee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    1,579

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brunetmj1 View Post
    What does the wiring on the furnace control board look like ? Wireless capability requires a C (common wire) to run the wirless. Most old homes just have two or three wire
    thermostats.
    We have had ours about two years and love it.

    There are a couple of ways to deal with the C-wire issue, and the manufacturer has gone all-out to make it easy for folks who have an older system. One is if there are any unused wires in the wire bundle run to the thermostat, you can pick up the needed voltage off the transformer that is inevitably down there in the furnace room as part of the setup. Alternatively, with the Filtrete, all you need is a cheapo power supply from Radio Shack, which you can just plug into the outlet nearest the thermostat, and run the little wire behind the wall up or over to the hole where the wires come out for the thermostat. Filtrete even has a how-to video for those who don't know how to fish a little wire through the wall. Finally, you can get lucky (like we were) and have one of those 1960-vintage "clock thermostats" that had a mechanical clock and mechanical day/night timer built in. The power for that will also work; the Filtrete is very flexible on voltages, etc., for powering it, and gives you detailed instructions on how to hook it up, which wire goes where, etc., depending upon what it is to control and how you are powering it. You can pull up the install instructions online at the filtrete web site, and there are a number of YouTube videos by Filtrete on installation, etc.

    Oddly, the instructions seem a tad counterintuitive; I mean it can't be that easy, right? They were counterintuitive enough that the mope from our oil heat dealer, who I asked to install it, insisted on wiring the power part his way (after asking "You don't need that wifi stuff, do you?" Uh, yeah, that's sort of the point). After he left, having done a nice, neat, but incorrect installation, I just moved the equivalent of the C wire into the right slot, and VOILA!, worked like a champ. The "right slot", as used in the last sentence, means the one that the INSTRUCTIONS, which I bothered to READ, said it should go in.

    We just use ours to control the hydronic heat, so it's not doing anything too complicated. However, it is amazingly-easy to set the 4 temperature/times for each day using the matrix online. I also use it to set it back when nobody will be at home for a day or two, setting it to AWAY mode and HOME mode, as need be, from my smartphone. I have friends who have a weekend/holiday home in the Hamptons and bought this Filtrete thermostat from HD; they set it on "away" when they leave, and set it on "home" when they are within an hour of arrival driving. One of those little conveniences that you didn't appreciate until you had it.
    Last edited by wjcandee; 10-29-2012 at 06:16 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. thermostat for second zone doesn't control boiler?
    By HerHandyMan in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 06:36 PM
  2. Inexpensive low end toliet needed
    By ron in sc in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-05-2008, 04:32 PM
  3. Thermostat with Remote Bulb Help
    By statjunk in forum HVAC Heating & Cooling
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-11-2008, 10:21 AM
  4. Remote control load switch?
    By snafflekid in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 02:26 PM
  5. Inexpensive mop sink
    By Spaceman Spiff in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-01-2005, 08:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •