(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Two outlets from one switch

  1. #1
    DIY Member arfeller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    77

    Default Two outlets from one switch

    I would like to supply two outlets from one switch. However, the outlets are on opposite sides of the room with the switch in the middle. Normally, i would daisy chain the outlets together but in this case I would rather have them both fed from switch independently.

    I don't think putting two wires (12-2) on one terminal is a good idea so my current thought is to use a small pigtail and wire nut the two circuits to a pigtail and then attach the pigtail to the switch.

    Would this be appropriate or is there a better way to accomplish this?

    Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Whether this is a good idea at all...I don't know. But for sure, you are not supposed to put more than one wire on a screw. I don't see why pigtailing the connection would not be OK<

  3. #3
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,676

    Default

    I guess it boils down to the size of the box, number of conductors, etc. WRT fill rate. I'm guessing just one hot pair in and two load pairs out.

    http://www.selfhelpandmore.com/home-...tions-2002.php

  4. #4
    DIY Member arfeller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Port Angeles, WA
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Yep, one hot pair and two load pairs out. I bought an oversized (deep) box so things tucked in very neatly.

    Thank you both for the response

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member dlarrivee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,172

    Default

    I don't see a problem with that at all, pig-tails are the most professional way of accomplishing most of these tasks.

  6. #6
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,624

    Default

    The only other way to do it would be with a switch with 2 back openings, but the ones with a screw to tighten the wires, not a "back stabbed" connection.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

Similar Threads

  1. Tap wall switch for outlets to add overhead light?
    By snorp in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-04-2011, 08:29 AM
  2. Outlets on a line
    By RJK in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-22-2011, 06:16 AM
  3. Wiring Help for 2 Outlets (One on a Switch)
    By molo in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2009, 05:12 PM
  4. Under cabinet outlets?
    By rgonyer in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-09-2009, 08:41 AM
  5. Floor outlets
    By brosnt1 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 05:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •