(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Pump Controller is "weak", yields low pressure

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member forest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    In the forest... Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Default Pump Controller is "weak", yields low pressure

    I had some ancient (well, probably 1970's) pump controller on a 3/4hp single phase 230v pump at a depth of 300ft with a nominal water lever at about 125 feet. It pumped a ton of water. Not sure about gpm, but I would fill a 5 gallon bucket at the hydrant in about a minute. Shower pressure, hose pressure, etc were all well above adequate.

    That was yesterday. That ancient controller bailed on me, and I happened to have a "Franklin 2801084915 Control box" that some moron well drillers that I hired once to "update" my well system had put on. At the time I had the well pipe, pump, wire and controller replaced. All seemed good except the pressure was crap. I was going to call another well service company because these guys were, as I mentioned, morons... but instead I tried putting the old controller on. It worked fine, so I left it.

    Now, the Franklin gives me (seriously) about a gallon ever 5 minutes.

    Anyway, what controller should I buy to get this thing working again?

  2. #2
    DIY Junior Member forest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    In the forest... Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Forgot to mention that the "service" guys that sold me this controller could very well have sold me a non-working product. It would have been just their "style."

    Does a controller produce low pressure like this if the capacitor is blown or damaged or something?

    Like maybe I need to replace this --> http://www.amazon.com/86-103-MFD-uF-.../dp/B0060C5O1W
    Last edited by forest; 03-30-2012 at 03:52 PM.

  3. #3
    In the Trades Texas Wellman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    SE Texas-Coastal
    Posts
    487

    Default

    They either run or not.

    I suppose you are referring to the "control box" when you say controller. Simple to swap out to a new one.

    My guess is that your pump is shot or you have a down-hole leak.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member forest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    In the forest... Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I thought that too... but when I first got this new control box (Franklin) my pressure went from great to nil... then I swapped in the old one (unknown brand), and I got my pressure back! That was two or so years ago...

    Today the old one finally gave up the ghost, and I swapped the new one back in... crap water pressure.

    So, it has to be the control box (not really a well man, so, hah, I thought it was called the controller).

    Anyway... if I order a new one, I should just order the same one these morons put on? It looks like the right one when I look at zorotools... I just wonder why it doesn't work. At first (assuming the new box was good) I thought it was undersized or something. From what you are saying I should assume the new box is "bad" and order the same thing since it is correctly sized.

    Thanks for the reply.
    Last edited by forest; 03-30-2012 at 10:27 PM. Reason: additional info

  5. #5
    DIY Junior Member forest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    In the forest... Ohio
    Posts
    4

    Red face

    [Solution]

    Wow... for anyone that comes accross this thread in the future, it was going to be at least three days before I could get a replacement "control box"... so, in desperation I looked through the corroded parts and pieces in the old box and saw that it contained the exact same capacitor as the new one: an 86-103uF BMI cap: the one I linked in the amazon link above.

    The thing was totally coroded and the "bottom" that has the wire attachemt blades on it had fallen completely off of the cap. I got out my soldering iron and repaired it as best I could, then I popped out the cap in the new control box and put the old, repaired one in. Closed up the box and flipped the breaker... beautiful, copious flowing water. What a trip.

    I still have a new box on order... but it turns out that somehow that capacitor had burned out or something, and the old one, amateurly repaired, did a fine job.

    FYI!
    Last edited by forest; 03-31-2012 at 03:26 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2010, 11:17 PM
  2. Intermittent Low Pressure, "Lagging" Sound Well Pump
    By wcp in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 11:01 AM
  3. 2 Houses, 2 Pressure Tanks, 1 pump, 1 controller, 1 pressure switch pro help needed!
    By betaman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 05:07 AM
  4. Can Pressure tank installation "fail" an Iron filter
    By 1erins in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2007, 12:45 PM
  5. Which CONTROLLER is "best" ??
    By florida_wen in forum Irrigation / Sprinkler Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-29-2006, 01:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •