(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: What is the drain height for a kitchen sink?

Default What is the drain height for a kitchen sink?

I looked all over and I've read as low as 12" to high as 18" off the finish floor. The counter height is 36" the sink bowl will be 8 or 9 inches deep plus an in-sink-erator disposal. So what is the best height for the drain line coming out of the wall? Also, is the measurement to the center line of the pipe?

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar

It depends on the model of the disposal. What you don't want is the connection in the wall to be higher than the outlet of the disposal...it must be lower so that after you make the connections, after the trap, it can still slope down to maintain flow properly. Too low would be more than 24" below the outlet of the disposal.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

Homeowner
    Blog Entries

I hit mine at 14" from the slab. Yes thats to the center.

!2" will work, but it is a bit low. 18" would be tight for a deep sink. I do mine 14" -16" high. As a practical matter, it is almost impossible to install it too low, unless you get ridiculous and put it at the cabinet floor, but very easy to get it too high.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar