(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 45

Thread: GE Smartsoft model gxsf23z01 issues

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default GE Smartsoft model gxsf23z01 issues

    Good evening. I have a GE SmartSoft Water Softener model number GXSF23Z01 that i've had for 10 years. I had a venturi gasket go out about 3 years ago and replaced without issue. Has worked perfect ever since.... Until now it isn't. I've cleaned the venturi and drained the water down to the salt level and it seems to be quite high, as in higher than the float switch. It isn't producing soft water and I have no clue as to what to do now other than call a technician. I'm a pretty handy individual but the manual of course gives me no other guidance other than to clean the venturi. Please help!

    Keith

  2. #2
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    I suspect there's something broken in the valve itself. GE's are not designed to last much more than 7 years.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  3. #3
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Check the drain line to make sure there are no kinks or that it isn't frozen.

    Check the brine line fittings to make sure they are tight and not allowing air to be sucked instead of heavy brine water.

    If the control valve goes from one cycle position to another during a regeneration, then the control valve is probably OK.

    Go here for more on troubleshooting;
    http://www.kenmorewater.com/
    Last edited by Gary Slusser; 02-28-2012 at 07:26 AM.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  4. #4
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    In the manual that I have back in the parts break down there are some parts that are for the brine, a rubber seal that looks like an 8 and then there is a plunger and spring.
    One of those could be a problem or it could be the the seals , one rubber and the other a silicon like seal are no longer in good shape and need to be replaced.
    All of this is working on the idea that the venturi is clean and in working order.

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    666

    Default

    The venturi has a flow controller. Make sure it it clear. If not, it could cause the unit not to draw brine.

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default

    The valve is rotating through all of the cycles but the level of water doesn't ever appear to be changing. It appears that through every cycle all of the water is flowing out of the drain line into my septic system, not through the tank itself, unless that is normal operation, I don't know. I finally noticed an err01 code, which I've never seen before since I've never stood here for an hour watching this thing cycle and unplugged machine and checked wiriing to ensure connections but still repeats err01. Any advice?

    Keith

  7. #7
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    I don't suppose you have the manual do you? There's nothing on Kenmore's (GE) web site other than the animations and they don't address specific error codes but it sounds like one of the valves in the head is stuck open.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  8. #8
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by creations15 View Post
    The valve is rotating through all of the cycles but the level of water doesn't ever appear to be changing. It appears that through every cycle all of the water is flowing out of the drain line into my septic system, not through the tank itself, unless that is normal operation, I don't know. I finally noticed an err01 code, which I've never seen before since I've never stood here for an hour watching this thing cycle and unplugged machine and checked wiriing to ensure connections but still repeats err01. Any advice?

    Keith
    Error codes say there is a fault with the electronics. The motor, micro switch including the wiring and meter wiring could be at fault. Err 1 is most likely the motor. If the motor turns normally, check the micro switch and wiring. With a faulty micro switch or wiring, the motor would continue to turn until an error code makes it stop. As far as the unit not drawing brine, remove the brine line at the valve and put unit in a draw cycle. If you have no draw, it's most likely a fault in the venturi. If you have a drip or fill, it's most likely the fig 8 o ring or drain plugged but be caused by other things.
    Last edited by mialynette2003; 02-28-2012 at 04:59 PM. Reason: Added thoughts

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default

    I think I had a wire come unplugged. Just plugged it back in. Even with the error code the dial is still turning. How/where do I remove the brine line? Yess I have the manual, here is the link. Doesn't tell me squat. http://products.geappliances.com/Mar...=003674144.PDF

  10. #10
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default

    No more error code since I reseated the white wire into place but still need to figure out why system not working/drawing water out of brine tank
    Last edited by creations15; 02-28-2012 at 06:06 PM.

  11. #11
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by creations15 View Post
    I think I had a wire come unplugged. Just plugged it back in. Even with the error code the dial is still turning. How/where do I remove the brine line? Yess I have the manual, here is the link. Doesn't tell me squat. http://products.geappliances.com/Mar...=003674144.PDF
    The brine line connects to the venturi on the left side of the valve. Once it is disconnected, check for a draw or drip with unit in draw cycle.

  12. #12
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default

    So am I taking the black line off of the Float switch that is inside the brine tank? The float switch would be currently shut off as there is too much water or does that mean the brine tank can't fill any higher? Sorry for the idiot questions, but again the manual is not very clear as indicated.

  13. #13
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Your unit or any other unit will more times than not.. will have no problem putting water into the salt tank .. but the pulling out part.. that is the part that all the pieces have to come together right for it to work, any of the items not right and it will not work.

    Get the system to the brine draw, once it is in the brine draw remove the tan nut that holds the black tube to the venturi. If water is coming out then the venturi is bad or there is a problem inside the valve that will need to be fixed.

  14. #14
    DIY Junior Member creations15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Spokane
    Posts
    21

    Default

    with brine line off the left side of the venturi, in F mode water is shooting out the side of the valve. in BE mode water is draining out of the system into my septic but not from my tank. In BW mode I don't see anything happening. Now midway through BW mode, something is draining but not my tank. In R mode something is draining, doesn't appear to be my tank
    Last edited by creations15; 02-28-2012 at 06:30 PM.

  15. #15
    In the Trades Akpsdvan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alaska
    Posts
    1,464

    Default

    Is there a BR mode?
    that is the one that will pull brine .

Similar Threads

  1. Know this AS model?
    By hillcrest in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 02:11 PM
  2. DWV Model
    By sctclimbs in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-14-2008, 07:12 PM
  3. dleta model 1700 tub/shower issues
    By edspens in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 08-14-2007, 08:34 PM
  4. Are there issues witht the Carusoe model?
    By stuntman in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2006, 01:42 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •