(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Dish Washer, is an air gap still a requirement?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Member tom12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California & UK
    Posts
    63

    Default Dish Washer, is an air gap still a requirement?

    I've noticed in another place a claim that there is now, in many states, no code requirement for using an air gap with a dish washer drain. The only requirement now is for a high-loop in the D/W drain pipe. Any comments?

  2. #2
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,202
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    California uses the UPC code, which is one of the codes that requires the air gap fitting.
    The best thing would be to call your local inspection office and see what they want.

    We use the air gap in Washington State.



    Last edited by Terry; 11-19-2012 at 09:12 AM.

  3. #3
    DIY Member tom12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    California & UK
    Posts
    63

    Default

    Thank you Terry.

  4. #4
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    I live in Maine which is UPC and an air gap is required
    In NH (just over the boarder) which is IPC only a high loop is required.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  5. #5
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,405

    Default

    The safest connection is an air gap, whether required or not. It's up to you to decide, if you have the choice.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  6. #6
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    Modern dishwashers will usually have the high loop already installed on the appliance itself so running another under the sink cabinet effectively double traps the line which is not a good thing.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

Similar Threads

  1. Using Dish Soap for Bugs
    By DonL in forum Lawn Care/Landscaping
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 05-10-2011, 10:21 AM
  2. Proper Drain / vent setup for Dish Washer
    By jamiedolan in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-09-2009, 08:49 AM
  3. direcTV Sattelite dish mount
    By DIY in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-15-2008, 02:11 PM
  4. Installing new soap dish into existing ceramic tile
    By bbbluueyes in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2008, 05:08 AM
  5. Portable dish washer conversion
    By buildumup in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-28-2006, 10:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •