Troubleshooting our well. Help appreciated

Users who are viewing this thread

Dfrank

Reaction score
Woke up this morning
Put on my slippers
Walked in the kitchen and the water died.
(apologies to John Prine)

Or our water did to be specific. I'm attempting to troubleshoot the problem and would appreciate any feedback I can get. It was really bloody cold here last night, so I suspected pipes first, but they seem to be fine, just no water getting to them. I checked the pressure tank (Amtrol WX-203). No pressure. Checked the well control (franklin electric 2801074910). No power. Played follow the wire back to the pressure switch (Square D 9013FSG). Power. Next thing I checked is the resistance on the motor (Franklin Electric 214507). Main is running 4.7 Ohms. Start is running 17 Ohms. Both are high. Does this sound like a bad motor or is could there be some kind of blockage that's triggered the low pressure valve? I'm new to playing with this stuff, so if there are any other tests I should do, I'd like to know. Also, is there anything I have to do to recharge the tank once it's been at no pressure or do I not have to worry about this.

I'm really hoping it's not the pump. It's buried under the driveway somewhere and will be a pleasure to get to.

Thanks,

Dan

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Reading the resistance on a inductive load is not really a good test.

Are you getting power out of the pressure switch.

Did you check the capacitors in the control box ?

Dfrank

Reaction score
Thanks, Don. No power is coming out of the pressure switch as that would show up at the control box, right? I haven't checked the capacitors since there was no power getting there. Could it just be that the pressure switch is stuck and not letting power through?

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score