how do i disconnect power on a split buss?

Users who are viewing this thread

tom 1973

Reaction score
panel 1.jpgpanel 2.jpgPanel 3.jpgPanel 4.jpg

I have a split buss panel. I'd like to change the wiring to the double pole 20A breaker in the bottom right corner. It is currently wired for an electric stove. The stove doesn't exist. We have gas. I'd like to use the breaker to run 8 gauge wire into another room to make a sub panel.

How do I shut off the power to the breaker so I don't get zapped?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
This appears to be a subpanel, so find the panel that is feeding this one and shut off its feed there by flipping the proper breaker off. Also, note I'm not a pro at this, it appears that this panel is deficient in that as a subpanel, it is required to have a four-wire feed with separate neutral and ground leads; you only have a ground lead, which may be tied to neutral back at the main panel, but should be separate here. If you don't have a proper neutral, you can't make any 120vac circuits, as the ground lead should NOT be carrying any current except in a fault situation. That, along with the fact that it is not insulated makes for a major problem. I don't think the panel would pass code, even when it was installed, let alone today. But, again, I'm not a pro and may be missing something.

One of the pros will either verify or reject my assessment...I think I'd call a pro and do some rewiring to make it safe and get what you want. That uncapped big hole on the side of the panel isn't a good thing, either.

JWelectric

Electrical Contractor/Instructor
Reaction score
What you really need is to start over in that panel. There is more code violations there than I am willing to go into.

You really need to hire a professional to remedy these problems. This panel is so bad that I will not make any other comment

ActionDave

Electrician
Reaction score