(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What would cause a gas furnace to draw too many amps?

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member kailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    22

    Default What would cause a gas furnace to draw too many amps?

    What would cause a gas furnace to draw too many amps?

  2. #2
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Exactly what do you mean by too many amps? As in it blew a fuse??? That is a short circuit, look for burned transformer, overheated motor, etc.

  3. #3
    DIY Senior Member kreemoweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Seattle. WA
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Stalled/jammed blower fan motor?

  4. #4
    DIY Senior Member Runs with bison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    892

    Default

    Can the blower turn freely? I had a bearing failure in one many years ago, it seized. Interestingly, it didn't trip the breaker, and the blower motor didn't burn out...which was good because I couldn't find replacement bearings and had to rebuild it from parts I scavenged off another similar old blower that a shop had removed when replacing a unit. I think I handed the shop owner a couple of bucks for the old unit, other than that the repair was free.

    Anyway, I'm assuming blower because it is the biggest amp draw. The second biggest user would be the induced draft fan.

  5. #5
    Moderator & Master Plumber hj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cave Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    25,633

    Default

    quote; The second biggest user would be the induced draft fan.

    It may be the "second biggest draw", but it still a "Very small" one. We would have to know what he means by "excessive amps" and how he determined it.
    Licensed residential and commercial plumber

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member kailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Merry Christmas everyone! I'm helping my sister-in-law with this issue. I'll try to find out what the amp draw was according to the repairman. No one available til Tuesday. She said they got the furnace running but did not know how long it would last. Right now, I've very limited information. Thanks for your inputs thus far.

  7. #7
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer jadnashua's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    21,401

    Default

    If the voltage was marginal (say in a brown-out), and things were 'on the edge' of accepability, it could draw excessive current and trip or blow a safety device. When I had my air handler/a-c unit installed, I installed a low-voltage cutout device. I think it was made by IDS. It's about the size of a deck of cards, has some controls on it to set the desired operating range, some LED indicators, and an internal relay to disable operation if the power is outside of parameters you set. No idea if it has saved my system, but it also has a time-out after power outages to prevent operation immediately after power reapplication when it can fluctuate radically for a few moments or so, thus further protecting things while the voltage is all wacky until it stabilizes. The internal motors probably would be okay, but the unit has at least a couple of circuit boards, and not asking them to operate until the power is stable is probably a good thing.
    Jim DeBruycker
    Important note - I'm not a pro
    Retired Defense Industry Engineer; Schluter 2.5-day Workshop Completed 2013, 2014

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,645

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kailor View Post
    Merry Christmas everyone! I'm helping my sister-in-law with this issue. I'll try to find out what the amp draw was according to the repairman. No one available til Tuesday. She said they got the furnace running but did not know how long it would last. Right now, I've very limited information. Thanks for your inputs thus far.
    Sounds to me that the service man, was blowing a little smoke. Maybe not.

    It is very disturbing how they take advantage of the unknowing. Maybe he spoke the truth. who am I to judge.


    If she called because of a blown fuse, then Jim's answer makes more sense than mine.


    Have a happy Holiday.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member kailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Posts
    22

    Default

    The blower motor was bad.

  10. #10
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kailor View Post
    The blower motor was bad.
    We appreciate that you came back and gave us the outcome. Sounds like the service man knew what was up but just didn't explain it very well. Motors do go bad, and hopefully this did not cost you too much...maybe an arm and just one leg, not both!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Amps/kilowatts follow GPM?
    By chas2010 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 10:09 AM
  2. Not enough amps for Toto Neorest/Now what?
    By Janjan in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:00 AM
  3. Not enough amps for Toto Neorest/Now what?
    By Janjan in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2010, 11:01 AM
  4. How many amps can this panel handle?
    By yellowdog5 in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 09:48 AM
  5. 30 amps through #12 wire?
    By leejosepho in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-26-2008, 05:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •