(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Leave Page or Stay...

  1. #1
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default Leave Page or Stay...

    Am I the only one getting the "Leave" or "Stay on Page" error when posting ?
    Last edited by DonL; 12-21-2011 at 04:11 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,687

    Default

    Don't leave angry, just leave.

  3. #3
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LLigetfa View Post
    Don't leave angry, just leave.
    10-4 I see...

    I guess You wrote the code that don't work.


    Have a Happy Life...
    Last edited by DonL; 12-21-2011 at 03:50 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  4. #4
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,687

    Default

    No, I didn't write the code. Just talking from experience... any time I got the prompt, I didn't get angry, I just left. Never lost a post doing that yet.

  5. #5
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,208
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I haven't lost a post that way either. Sometimes it asks and sometimes it doesn't.

    Very strange.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member BobL43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    1,773

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Am I the only one getting the "Leave" or "Stay on Page" error when posting ?
    I get it too, but only sometimes, and both at home and when I post from my work PC. If it happens, and I have typed lots of words, I just copy the typing into the clipboard in case anything goes wrong (hasn't yet) so I can paste it back if I need to do another reply.
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

  7. #7

    Default

    I get them at work, and send them over to the coworker. hoping. Well, one can hope.

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default Looks Like Java Script Error

    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I haven't lost a post that way either. Sometimes it asks and sometimes it doesn't.

    Very strange.

    Terry,

    It looks to me that it may be a Java Coding Error.

    Just to Leave the Site is not a good answer, For me. I just considered the source.


    You have a great site, Keep up the good work.


    DonL Name:  Love_Heart.gif
Views: 306
Size:  1.5 KB
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  9. #9
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,687

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Just to Leave the Site is not a good answer, For me.
    Who said anything about leaving the site? The topic is about leaving the page.

    If it was a java coding error, why is it intermittent? I have seen it maybe 3 or 4 times in the 1,541 posts I've made.

    If you get it often, my guess is that you are losing packets and that your ISP may be to blame.

  10. #10
    Forum Admin, Expert Plumber Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Bothell, Washington
    Posts
    14,208
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks DonL,

    I like what you did to the logo too!

  11. #11
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    I get a lot of that but if you hit refresh it seems to clean it all up. And if you get to advanced edit, go back, refresh and then you get the normal edit box and no double posts.

  12. #12
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ballvalve View Post
    I get a lot of that but if you hit refresh it seems to clean it all up. And if you get to advanced edit, go back, refresh and then you get the normal edit box and no double posts.

    What browser do you use ?, I think that the code is optimized for IE.

    My guess is that you use something different.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #13
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    I think this one is vista

  14. #14
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,661

    Default

    I guess I should have said Internet Explorer , or Foxfire or a third party, or not the one that comes with windows.

    Sorry.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  15. #15
    DIY Junior Member aquadood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Atlantis, TX
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Am I the only one getting the "Leave" or "Stay on Page" error when posting ?
    I believe that is a error in the VBulletin software used on the site. There is a javascript file that can be changed to fix that. Though if its only some of the time, it may be a glitch in the software linking to the javascript files... It does happen and it sure is a pain to figure out what is causing ir.

Similar Threads

  1. Replace 4" C.I. or leave it alone ??
    By Rich B in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2009, 03:50 AM
  2. Remove plaster and lathe or leave it?
    By nelsonba in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 09:06 AM
  3. Is it ok to leave small leak alone?
    By wp1 in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-07-2008, 12:36 PM
  4. Remove or Leave Tub Drain T
    By FJK in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 11:09 PM
  5. Grease it up, or leave well enough alone?
    By jadnashua in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-21-2007, 12:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •