please rate my plan of action..... new informed member

Users who are viewing this thread

notbobvilla

Reaction score
Hey all I have moved into a new house from the city into the country, and as you guessed it I need water treatment. I'm a power plant operator by trade so most of these test were done by me. Even before the county did their testing I had planned on getting a 48k softener,1.5 cu ft birm filter, and a POU RO for the quick tap in the kitchen and the feed for the fridge. I planned on using the fleck 7000 control valve for my set-up, and reducing the outlets to 3/4 copper to match the potable water lines. The well pump is a red jacket 1/2 hp 230v model number 50CNSW1-9B, but I can't find a manual or even a pump curve online. did red jacket come up with a new numbering system? The well is approx 93 ft deep and a 60ft drop pipe installed. The incoming poly line is 1 inch that connects to a 1 inch header connected to the pressure switch, gauge, and well x trol 202 pressure tank ( I just replaced this) then up to the 3/4 copper line that runs to the outdoor taps. The potable water lines are further downstream to allow untreated water to still be used for service. I came up with about 22 gpm using the outdoor tap, and about 12 gpm using an upstairs laundry tub. This leads me to believe that where the equipment I should be capable of about 15 gpm. The water turns yellowish if sitting in a container after being filled, which is an iron presence. Also occasionally the water has a slight odor coming out of the tap.... mind you i dnt have hot water on yet this is just the cold tap. But after the water sits and yellows the smell is non-existent. I'm hoping I can stay with a choice of birm due to cost and backwash requirements. If I do choose to use birm and then realize that the smell wont go away could I just dump the birm and refill the tank with filox or terminox?