(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Can I Use Any Thin Set With Kerdi? The ICC-ES Evaluation Report On Kerdi Says You Can

ACO Shower Drain Sales johnfrwhipple's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Default Can I Use Any Thin Set With Kerdi? The ICC-ES Evaluation Report On Kerdi Says You Can

Post(s) deleted by John Whipple
    Last edited by johnfrwhipple; 03-15-2014 at 03:21 PM.

jfrwhipple@gmail.com - www-no-curb.com - 604 506 6792

Always get construction advice double checked by your local city hall. Flood Test Every Shower - Every Time.

does this qualify as a conundrum or a dilemma?
    I am definitely not a pro plumber, but I am a pro crastinator

Blog Entries

Always get construction advice double checked by your local city hall. Flood Test Every Shower - Every Time.

Quote Originally Posted by johnfrwhipple View Post
    I got Eric from Noble company shedding some good light onto the problem over on Contractor Talk. Eric mentions that drywall was removed from the TCNA book years ago so I guess we know Jim's copy is outdated and Eric also mentioned that you can get what ever kind of report you want but the code is the code and with TCNA, ANSI and TTMAC drywall is not listed.

That is not what bugs me. What bugs me is do I use regular non-modifed thinset to install ditra on plywood or can I use any thinset for ditra or Kerdi. And further more do I need to use the Kerdi Flex to seam my Kerdi sheets. We always use Kerdi Band or scraps of Kerdi or overlap the Kerdi itself.

Crazy that the ICC rules need to be followed verses the Schluter rules.

http://www.icc-es.org/reports/pdf_fi...S/ESR-2467.pdf

Jim should know - they must discuss this at the lunch table

JW