(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Low water pressure...pressure switch bad?

  1. #1
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default Low water pressure...pressure switch bad?

    The last two night my wife has complained that the pressure drops very very low while in the shower. I checked my gauge when it was low and the pressure was at 35 and even dropped to 30 before the well kicked on. It is a 40/60 switch. Not sure how old it is, maybe 10 years. It shuts off at 60psi with no problem. Does this sound like a pressure switch issue? Doesnt seem to do it all the time, but the last few nights when using the shower it certainly did. I verified by turning on a water hose and watching the pressure drop to 30-35 before it kicked on.

  2. #2
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,153

    Default

    You need to take the cover off the pressure switch and do that test again. If at 40 PSI the points in the switch do not make, or touch together, then the nipple to the pressure switch is probably clogged. If the switch points make at 40 PSI, but the pump doesn't start for some time after that, then the overload in your motor is tripping. Not doing it everytime makes me think it is the overload in your motor tripping. Which means you have already cycled your pump to death, and it is just waiting for the most inoppurtune time to completely quit.

  3. #3
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I say it doesnt do it all the time, but im not actively watching my water pressure until we take showers. The contacts do not make until it gets well below 40 psi. Can I clean it or should I simply replace it?

  4. #4
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jed1154 View Post
    I say it doesnt do it all the time, but im not actively watching my water pressure until we take showers. The contacts do not make until it gets well below 40 psi. Can I clean it or should I simply replace it?
    If the switch is 10 Years old you would be better off replacing it.

    While you have it off , You can clean the nipple to the pressure switch as Valveman suggested.

    Down here in Texas the Fire ants Screw the switches up.

    You can buy them on line for about $15.00.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  5. #5
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    There are a bunch of Square D 40/60 switches for water wells, and they all are a little different. Main difference is teh 'pressure differential'...whatever that is. No clue which I need.

  6. #6
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    The Normal differential is 20 PSI, The Square DŽ are adjustable to what ever you want to set it at.

    They are just Factory Set for ease of no adjust install.


    http://www.amazon.com/Square-FSG2J24.../dp/B000BQSERE
    Last edited by DonL; 12-13-2011 at 10:57 AM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  7. #7
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    OK, i know which one to get, but can you explain why they have several different kinds that are 40/60?

    On the square D website, there are 4 that fit my purpose.

    The differences are in the "Range on Decreasing Pressure" and "Differential" both in PSIG.

    What are these two parameters and why would I pick one over the other for my well?

  8. #8
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    Not sure the ones that you are looking at.

    If you take the cover Off there should be a sticker inside, Tells how to adjust, and should have the Model number.

    Some have the Low Pressure Cut off lever, But they are a PITA for the normal user.

    That link is for the most common ones used.

    You could adjust the old one , but if the pressure changed , It would be better to replace it.
    Or clean the nipple to the pressure switch as Valveman suggested.


    What is the Brand and model of your pump. ?


    I have yet to see one last over about 5 years Outdoors. Change Be Done, Wife Happy.
    Last edited by DonL; 12-13-2011 at 12:16 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  9. #9
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Id be lying if I told you what brand of pump and model I have. I did not have it drilled and it was a huge pain in the butt to dig up the driller report online. As such, Im pretty sure its model is not listed on there anyway. My well is in a well house with a concrete slab.....so there are no ants or weather related issues with it.

  10. #10
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    The switch should have a Number in it, I would check that number.

    But the one on the link will work for 120 or 240 Volt.

    It is a double pole.

    As long as the water fitting fits, It should work.

    Last time I bought one it even came with the Brass fitting to fit most water connections.

    Just make sure to kill the Power when you change it.

    Or maybe Texas WellmanŽ services your area.

    He is the best, Around here.
    Last edited by DonL; 12-13-2011 at 12:47 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  11. #11
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I am comfortable replacing it myself. One questions...is it acceptable or safe to put a 'T" on that nipple so that I could put a pressure guage on just underneath the pressure switch? I have a guage now, but its on my tank and it faces the back of the well house wall, so I have to crawl over the well and around the softener to see it.

  12. #12
    Jack of all trades DonL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,632

    Default

    Yes, I would get a new meter. (Not move the Old)

    As long as the wire will reach.

    You should have seen the Meters on that link.
    Last edited by DonL; 12-13-2011 at 01:13 PM.
    Theory only works perfect in a vacuum.

    Cyber Security Protection for Windows C:\ > WWW.WinForce.Net

  13. #13
    DIY Member jed1154's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    98

    Default

    What do you mean 'have enough wire'?

    I am taking off the old pressure switch, putting a T on the old nipple. Off teh side of that T I am putting a NEW pressure gauge and then putting the new pressure switch on top again. I should have enough wire for that.

    Thanks for the help! Ill try to do this tonight. I bet the nipple is dirty. My well pumps a fair bit of sand, requiring me to have a spindown/vuflow filter and clean it out monthly. It may have finally succumbed to that.
    Last edited by jed1154; 12-13-2011 at 01:39 PM.

  14. #14
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,153

    Default

    I think you are looking for a FSG-2M1, and yes you can tee a gauge in the same 1/4" line. If you want something easy to see, these digital switches light up and you don't need any other pressure gauge.


  15. #15
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DonL View Post
    Some have the Low Pressure Cut off lever, But they are a PITA for the normal user.
    Ja, and a royal PITA for an abnormal person like me which was why I went with the EPS Cary shows in the picture.

Similar Threads

  1. Low water pressure after changing pressure switch.
    By cbr1grand in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2011, 06:48 AM
  2. Low pressure, pump stays on - tank, pressure switch? Replace all?
    By applebach in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-17-2011, 04:51 AM
  3. Super High pressure, but pressure switch appears to work properly
    By yergnov in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-03-2009, 05:14 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2008, 10:13 AM
  5. 2 Houses, 2 Pressure Tanks, 1 pump, 1 controller, 1 pressure switch pro help needed!
    By betaman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-05-2008, 05:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •