(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle

Thread: Well Stink

Hybrid View

Default Well Stink

While I work on wells I am no expert. I have a friend that has, I would guess hydrogen sulphide in the well causing the rotton egg smell. I want to chlorine the well for him but I am not sure of how mich to use and if it will/can harm the pump. It is a submergable, the well is 90' and he is getting back to me as to the water depth in it. My question is, is there a formula as to the amount of chlorine to use based on the amount of water in the well? I know how to do it just not how much to use or how long to leave it in the well B4 flushing it out.
    Thanks

Previous member

It sounds like you are going to chlorinate the well once, correct?

This will only temporarilly get rid of the sulphur smell. When the chlorine is gone, the smell is back.

I have a great system for eliminating sulphur permanently if he is interested. You can see it here:

bob...

How about a chlorinator? This is a device that bolts on the well casing and drops a chlorine pellet in every time the pump starts. The good thing about this is that it will control rust bacteria too.
    rshackleford

Shocking a well (or the use of a pellet dropper) can cause expensive to fix water quality, pump, power cable, drop pipe and casing problems. And shocking is not the standard treatment for H2S unless it is being caused by IRB, MRB or SRB in the well/groundwater. And then shocking usually will make the problem worse over time to the point that the well will have to be chemically/mechanically cleaned or replaced IF the well is a well point of fully cased and screened well, as opposed to a rock bore well.