Absolute Newbie wants to fix own Grohe 33 625 shower faucet - good idea? bad idea?

Users who are viewing this thread

plumbernotme

Reaction score
A 14-yr old Grohe 33 625 "Eurowing" shower faucet is leaking (constant dripping). Grohe very kindly sent pretty complete installation and repair instructions, plus the information that the part that needs replacing is the cartridge, part number 46 048. Now the hardest part seems to be just getting started by taking the cover off of the faucet, even now, with the instructions that show me which direction in which to try to remove it. It won't budge.

I am generally fairly resourceful, but have to ask: Is this a good project for someone who has never done anything with plumbing? Or should I just cave in and spend the cash to have a professional tackle this?

Your thoughts, please.

"PlumberNotMe"

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Couldn't find that model's stuff on their website, so can't determine whether it has anti-scald technology, but I think this was introduced earlier, so it probably does. Since I can't see it, and aren't familiar with that model, can't help in suggesting how to best remove it. I have found that their tech support people are pretty good, and maybe worth a call during business hours would quickly resolve your problem.

Can you post a picture of the new cartridge? If you look at it, does it have notches in it? If so, then it won't 'unscrew', but needs to be pulled straight out after the retaining mechanism is removed. That could be a nut or screw(s). They are often sealed via o-rings, and those can be quite stiff after that many years (and maybe torn, which is why it is leaking and hard to move). If it isn't already coated with plumber's silicon grease, you may want to buy some before trying to insert the new cartridge...it can make a big difference in how easy it is to seat it properly.

plumbernotme

Reaction score
41gJs9lAB8L._SL500_AA300_.jpg