Vibrating Cellphone Syndrome and Ringxiety

Users who are viewing this thread

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
In this day and age, with all the insidious technology, this is getting worse and worse. I work in IT and so monitor many systems. At work I have half a dozen computers in my office any of which could beep requiring my attention. I have a cellphone on one hip and a pager on the other. The phone vibrates before it rings and has different tones for calls, texts, missed calls, battery low, etc.

At home I have a variety of electronic devices that may beep. Smoke and CO detectors, water leak detectors, microwaves, phones, computers, TV, etc. plus the cellphone and pager since I'm on call, so when I hear faint ringing or beeping, the Ringxiety sets in. Add to this, my medical condition of ringing in the ears and loss of hearing.

Lately, I've noticed a few TV commercials have faint beeping in the background. Of course, with my bad hearing and Ringxiety, the first thing I do is mute the TV so that I may better track down the source of the sound. This has been going on for while before realizing that the sound is in fact coming from the TV. I really have to wonder what these advertising geniuses are thinking when they include subliminal bleeping. Are they trying to capitalize on the audiences Ringxiety cuz if they are, it is backfiring on them since my first reaction is to immediately mute the commercial.

This is really perplexing.

DonL

Jack of all trades Master of one
Reaction score
Sounds like it is time for Visual Alarming.

Maybe LEDs for a Heads Up.

LLigetfa

DIYer, not in the trades
Reaction score
No, NO, NOOO! Not visual. I suffer from migraines with aura. Flashing lights cause me anxiety that it may be a migraine aura which is a precursor to whole lot of pain. Sometimes flashing lights can trigger a migraine.