(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How do aquasensors work?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    DIY Member teve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    57

    Default How do aquasensors work?

    Do softeners with aquasensors, and water meters, just measure/calculate hardness that passes into the softener? Are the sensors part of the valve? Where and when exactly do they sense? I would assume the calculation needs to be adjusted periodically as the resin ages. Can an additional sensor of the same type detect if the softened water starts showing hardness? Can the sensor tell the difference between Ca/Mg in the water versus Na.

    How do the sensors actually measure the water hardness? (Something electrical I'm guessing. Is it just conductivity?) How accurate and sensitive are they when working properly?

  2. #2
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    It's Voodo teve, straight up Voodo. all chicken bones and dead cats.
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  3. #3
    DIY Member teve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Sawyer View Post
    It's Voodo teve, straight up Voodo. all chicken bones and dead cats.
    Ah. So, when there's a problem with an aquasensor I figure a goat sacrifice should fix it.

  4. #4
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    Sensors don't work well and that's why only 1-2 companies sell them. IMO they are just a gimmick type thing and are hard to keep working. They have been tried a number of times.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  5. #5
    In the Trades Tom Sawyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    Yep, every Culligan aquasensor unit I have run across has been bypassed. In fact, I've bypassed a bunch of them myself. As for how they work, I believe that they do measure electrical resistance which changes with mineral content. Even when one is working I always wondered just how accurate they could be and of course, being made by Culligan, unless you are a dealer getting information from them is impossible. Almost as hard as getting anything out of Kinetico
    [B]No, plumbing ain't rocket science. Unlike rocket science, plumbing requires a license[B]

  6. #6
    DIY Member teve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    57

    Default

    I figured they were gimmicky or they would likely be much more common.

    I found a Culligan manual that answered a number of my questions. (Their programming seems much more complicated than Clack.) The sensor is embedded in the resin and detects when it's starting to get exhausted. It also detects when slow rinse has pushed the remaining brine through so the next cycle can start a bit earlier.

    If the sensors gradually fail, it seems they would detect less conductivity (thus less hardness) than is actually there, so less frequent regenerations I'm assuming. But is seems override settings for calender or water volume or maximum grain capacity can easily cover for it.

    Why do the sensors have to be bypassed? Do customers report their treated water being hard? What are the symptoms of a failing sensor? Doesn't Culligan bother to set the overrides?
    Last edited by teve; 11-30-2011 at 08:03 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. My day at work
    By Cookie in forum Health and Wellness Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 11:40 PM
  2. lots of work
    By Ivel in forum Shower & bathtub Forum & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-15-2009, 11:27 AM
  3. Does the rough-in still work?
    By Ian Gills in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 12:30 PM
  4. Will this work !!
    By Time1992 in forum Remodel Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2007, 09:09 AM
  5. No Hub Couplings really work?
    By Geo in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-14-2006, 11:11 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •