Ice- line[ have plastic]its old!!

Users who are viewing this thread

BSA_Bob

DIY Member
Reaction score
I flooded my kitchen this year and the ins covered the water damage it caused. I got to looking at the frig[ ice[maker line in the basement its yellowing[age],And it lays acrossed a heat supply branch [ galvanized]ITs quite a long small plastic line.

I am a retired plumber 23 years,i just found out about this pecks waterline thats being used now-i'm still a fan of copper.or whatever yo think is best suited

I want to know what your take on replacement, and what should i use that i never have to replace again. I'm 67 so please bear with me if i don't get the picture the first time you share with me. anyway thanks a whole lot with whatever you know. fill me in . I told my wife the ins company won't be to happy with my floods to close together -should it ever happen. bob s or scharpr@ymail.com

Please type in sizes i need and i can take it from there

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
Exposure to heat and/or sunlight is not good for that polyethylene tubing. Yellowing is not a good sign. It is not ideal material for a "long run". You can replace it with PEX or copper.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I prefer to run a 1/2" line behind the frig, and box it with a hammer arrestor box and 1/4" OD shutoff.
I run either PEX or copper to the new box.
I do not like plastic lines for icemakers.
Out of the box and to the frig, a stainless braided supply works nice.

BSA_Bob

DIY Member
Reaction score
I prefer to run a 1/2" line behind the frig, and box it with a hammer arrestor box and 1/4" OD shutoff.
I run either PEX or copper to the new box.
I do not like plastic lines for icemakers.
Out of the box and to the frig, a stainless braided supply works nice.