Adding a utility sink

Users who are viewing this thread

Dbhyslop

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'd like to put a laundry sink in my basement with a Liberty 404 to send the wastewater to my plumbing stack. I've been reading up on the subject and understand that I need to vent the pump.

The problem is this is a bear of a stack and I'm not sure how to interface the vent into it.

photo (1).jpg

I haven't touched this thing: it's as it was when we moved in a few years ago. Toilet is the iron pipe on the left, vent is the one that goes straight up. The big copper pipe on the left comes from the shower, the one on the right from the bathroom sink. You can see the way the previous owners made a trap and standpipe for the washer drain. I'd probably take that apart and use it to bring the wastewater in, but I'm stumped about how to vent it.

I have little experience with plumbing, apart from an occasional sweat solder; however I'm a seasoned DIYer who's willing to put in the time and effort to read, learn and practice to do a project right without cutting corners. The drain stack in my home seems unusual compared to what I'm used to seeing in books and on the web, so I thought I'd ask if you pros have any tips for me.

Thanks!

Dan

Dlarrivee

Reaction score
You would be better off using plastic pipe to go up inside an upstairs wall and through the roof, or connecting to the existing vent in the attic...

Do you plan to dump both the new sink and the washer into the new pump setup?

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
I installed the Liberty drain pump in my own house, and am happy with it.

You cannot vent the basin into the stack in the basement. You are going to need to go up through the roof with a new vent or find another vent in the attic that is going out the roof that you can tie into in the attic.

The existing laundry drain connection is not proper either, but I'm guessing you already knew that.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score