(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: New member here with a

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member Matt_in_AZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2

    Default New member here with a

    new member question.

    Recently moved to Tucson AZ., and bought a house here.
    It has a GE smartwater softener already installed. However we are not getting any soft water at all.
    I have charged the system, it goes through the cycle normally.

    Still no soft water. The panel reads 0 (zero) gallons per minute ???

    Appreciate your help..

    Thanks
    Matt

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    663

    Default

    Turn on a faucet. The display shows water movement. If not, the meter is not working. Also, how much water is the the brine tank? Should only be about 1". If more, than it is not drawing brine.

  3. #3
    That's all folks! Gary Slusser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Wherever I park the motorhome.
    Posts
    6,790

    Default

    If there is a by pass valve or series of valves, is it being by passed? If so you won't have any water going out the drain line when in a regeneration, and no soft water.
    Gary Slusser Retired (= out of business)
    Click Here to learn how to correctly size or program a water softener.
    CAUTION, as of Nov 12 2013 all YouTube videos showing how to rebuild a Clack valve have an error in them that can cause damage.

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member Matt_in_AZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    AZ
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for replies folks

    Here is what I've done so far, i.e. before posting in this forum..

    I suspected there might be a salt bridge.
    I tried to break the salt as best as I could. Only in the corners there are some very hard to break salt is left.
    Tried a regeneration.
    It took water in (about an inch or so, hard to say exactly) and towards the end of the cycle I can her the water going out of the drain line.

    once regeneration is completed. I suspected may be there is air in the system. Pushed the sliding valve (I am sure there is a name for this valve) all the way in and then turned some faucets on and very slowly pulled the sliding valve out.

    Still no soft water and the meter shows 0 (zero) GMP processed.

    I Added about 3/4 bucket of water to the tank (about 4 gallons I guess). Tried to break more of the hardened salt in the corners and edges.
    Before going to sleep forced in another regeneration cycle.

    This morning still no soft water and there is water visible in the tank. It looks like the system used whatever it has to intake during regeneration however it did not pump out the extra water I have added to the tank.

    As of this morning still no juice, meter reads 0 gpm precessed.

    Now to answer your questions

    @ mialynette

    If the meter is broken/dysfunctional can I replace it ? The model number is PNSF39Z01 I have the manual, but on the parts list I dont see that part. Could it be listed under another name?

    @ Gary
    There are no bypass valves that I can see of. It is a simple installation. Water in and two water out. One is a copper pipe that goes back to the house and the other out is a plastic hose that goes to the drain.


    Actually it seems as a piece of equipment simple enough that I can tackle. I have tools and a fair understanding of systems. will see if the looks are deceiving or not.

    - Is there a way to get rid of excess water in the tank ?
    other than that , as a next step
    - I am planning to try to take out the Venturi, disassemble, clean, reassemble and put it back.
    Any suggestions ? do you guys thing this should be the next step ?

    Appreciate your thoughts/help.

    Thanks

    Matt

  5. #5
    DIY Senior Member mialynette2003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Ocala, Florida
    Posts
    663

    Default

    It may be listed as the turbine assembly. Yes it can be replaced. You may want to look at it first because I have seen where one of the magnet will cause it not to spin. As you are looking at the front of the unit, it is located on the left side where the outlet line is attached. There should be a devise between the valve and the piping for the unit. It will have a knob that says "Push for soft water". That is the bypass. When you advance the unit into a cycle, the first stage is fill. Puch the regen button again and the unit will go to a draw cycle. Disconnect the brine line from the valve and there should be a suction. If not, check out the venturi. Try this link. Even though this says Kenmore, it's the same kind of valve. http://www.kenmorewater.com/website/.../ts_index.html

Similar Threads

  1. new member old problem...french drain setup and well
    By 88rxn/a in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-14-2011, 12:28 PM
  2. New Member
    By killavolt in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 05:32 AM
  3. Probably an Old Question from a New member
    By bluejayye in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-02-2007, 07:28 PM
  4. New Member-1'st post is a question
    By Giles in forum Toilet Forum discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-30-2007, 06:59 AM
  5. Water Heater Problem ( New Forum Member)
    By nottick in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •