(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: submersible well pump cuts on and off with pressure switch contacts closed

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member wellfed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4

    Default submersible well pump cuts on and off with pressure switch contacts closed

    Hey everyone,
    I just bought an old farm house thats been vacant for 5 years. The house is gutted to the bare studs and all plumbing and wiring is removed. I wanted to check the well so I dug up the water line next to the well and plumbed in a hydrant. I added a shut off valve between the hydrant and house to keep water from shooting through the floor. I then ran a wire from a 30 amp double pole breaker in the breaker box (which is still hot) to the well. When I flipped the breaker and opened the hydrant I immediately got a great flow of water... for about 8 seconds. After that the pump kicked off. After a little research I replaced the pressure switch (with a 30/50 psi switch) and drained the pressure tank and filled it to 28 psi. When I turned on the power the pump kicked on and ran for a few seconds then kicked off. After a few more seconds it kicked back on. It did this for several minutes until the pressure reached about 42 psi. I watched the pressure switch the whole time and the contact didn't break until the pressure reached 42 psi. Also, if I leave the hydrant open the pump still turns on and off every few seconds. So, why is my pump kicking on and off? I have no idea of the size, brand or specs of the pump. I chose the breaker size based on the wire size running to the pump and the fact that 30 amp was the only double pole breaker in the box. According to what records I could find the well is approximately 75' deep, and thats all I know.

  2. #2
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    How many wires on the pump? Is there a pump control box in the circuit? Where is the pressure switch and tank in relation to the well and house?

    It sounds like the pump thermal overload is tripping. How long is the run of wire and what gauge?

  3. #3
    DIY Junior Member wellfed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Its a 2 wire pump with no control box. The pressure tank and switch are both in a 5'x5' block enclosure with the well. The wire is 10 gauge and run is about 100' from the breaker box. Thanks for the quick reply.

  4. #4
    Moderator valveman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    4,153

    Default

    Are you sure it is 240 volt? You could have 240 volt wired to a 115 volt motor, which would make the overload trip as you describe. Do you know the horse power?

  5. #5
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Ja, a 115V 1/2 HP pump can go 250 feet on #10. A 240V 1/2 HP pump can go over 1000 feet.

    For the distance you describe, #10 could drive a 5 HP pump which is a lot of pump for an 80 foot deep well.

    What if any high amperage single pole breakers are there in the panel?

  6. #6
    DIY Junior Member wellfed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I'm not sure on the horsepower or the voltage. I saw a big red and black wire disappearing down the well and assumed 220/240 volt (you know what they say about assuming). 20 amp was the biggest single pole breaker in the box. Is that enough to run a 110 volt pump? Thanks a lot for your responses.

  7. #7
    DIYer, not in the trades LLigetfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    NW Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    115V 1/2 HP pumps are common and one with a Franklin motor would draw around 12 amps so a 15 amp breaker might be too close for comfort but a 20 amp would be OK.

  8. #8
    General Engineering Contractor ballvalve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    northfork, california
    Posts
    3,258

    Default

    Try it on 120 volts and report back.

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member wellfed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Switched to the single pole 20 amp breaker and everything is working perfectly. I may be an idiot, or you may all be geniuses. Maybe a little of both. Thanks for the help everyone!

Similar Threads

  1. 40-60 switch cuts in at 35 and out at 62. Have new pressure gauge.
    By FredN in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-03-2010, 06:00 PM
  2. electrical contacts on Pressure switch
    By mrspaceman in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 12:43 PM
  3. Pressure switch cuts on & off
    By traveling man in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2006, 05:25 PM
  4. Pressure switch cuts in too soon
    By steter in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 06:28 AM
  5. Pumptrol Pessure switch rapidly cuts in/out
    By JWPH in forum Pumps and Tanks Well Forum & Blog
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 02:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •