(206) 949-5683, Top Rated Plumber, Seattle
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Wiring a garage

  1. #1
    DIY Junior Member sirjonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4

    Default Wiring a garage

    I was wondering if a 10/3 wire would be heavy enough to run power out to my garage? I do need a 220 plug out there for my welder. I know my breaker service in the house would support it. And i have a Breaker box that i can hook up in the garage as well. The wire would be about 80 to 100' long. Can I get away with a 40 amp breaker coming from the house? Thanks any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.
    jonas

  2. #2
    DIY Senior Member Chad Schloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    327

    Default

    how many amps does your welder require? 10ga supports up to 30a. you would have to have a 30a breaker in the main panel and wire the panel in the garage as a subpanel. (Make sure to keep the neutral and ground separate) is the garage detached? if so, i think you need to install ground rods. an electrician will chime in shortly i'm sure. I am currently wiring my attached garage so I know what you are going through. I ran 6/3 to the garage since I had extra from a previous project.
    Last edited by Chad Schloss; 10-12-2011 at 09:54 PM.

  3. #3
    Electrician ActionDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    326

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirjonas View Post
    I was wondering if a 10/3 wire would be heavy enough to run power out to my garage? I do need a 220 plug out there for my welder. I know my breaker service in the house would support it. And i have a Breaker box that i can hook up in the garage as well. The wire would be about 80 to 100' long. Can I get away with a 40 amp breaker coming from the house? Thanks any help or direction would be greatly appreciated.
    jonas
    Assuming the garage is detached and you are not going overhead you are going to need a trench, and you are going to put wire in the trench.

    Are you going to put the wire in conduit, so that if you ever have a problem it is easy to remedy without a shovel and lots of backbreaking labor out in the hot sun or freezing cold?

  4. #4
    DIY Junior Member sirjonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4

    Default

    yes the garage is detached and i was going to underground with it. I was not sure about the conduit thu. And i dont believe my welder draws anymore than 30 amps. And how do you wire up a subpanel? i have another breaker panel that i picked up at a garage sale would this work?
    Last edited by sirjonas; 10-13-2011 at 03:26 AM.

  5. #5
    Electrical Contractor/Instructor jwelectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    If installing a 240 volt circuit to a detached garage one MUST install four conductors, two hot, one neutral, one equipment grounding conductor.
    A grounding electrode system MUST be established at the remote panel. The panel at the detached garage must be rated as service equipment and shall be at a readily accessible location nearest the point of entrance of the conductors or installed outside the garage.

  6. #6
    DIY Senior Member Chad Schloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Subpanel Wiring in a detached garage. Note the separation of the neutral and ground and the panel is not bonded to the neutral. Also note the separate ground rod required.


  7. #7
    Plumber jimbo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    9,001

    Default

    Let's get back to the wire. He mentioned he wanted to run 10/3 , 100 feet, off a 40 amp breaker. Any comments on THAT.

  8. #8
    Architect Spaceman Spiff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Posts
    277

    Default

    He needs to use #8AWG wire to have an acceptable voltage drop at 40A and 100'. Need to use #8AWG anyway for 40A. For 30A #10 is fine. Both calculate to about 2.5% voltage drop at full load.
    Spaceman Spiff aka Mike

  9. #9
    DIY Junior Member sirjonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4

    Default

    The reason i was asking about the 10/3 wire was i might be able to get it pretty cheap, but i just gotta check my welder first and see what it draws.

  10. #10
    DIY scratch-pad engineer leejosepho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    200 miles south of Little Rock
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirjonas View Post
    The reason i was asking about the 10/3 wire was i might be able to get it pretty cheap, but i just gotta check my welder first and see what it draws.
    That wire will do well enough at supplying power for your welder at that distance, but you can only feed it with a 30A breaker at the house ... and please do as suggested here and run four wires out to the detached garage and then be sure the sub-panel there is installed and wired correctly! My own recent mess began when someone else only ran three wires out and then only used two of them for powering everything connected at the far end.
    Last edited by leejosepho; 10-14-2011 at 06:34 AM.

  11. #11
    DIY Junior Member sirjonas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Well i just found out my welder requires 50amps for input, so i will either have to find some 6/3 wire or find somebody to trade me for a 110 mig welder or 220 welder that does not draw as much.

  12. #12
    DIY scratch-pad engineer leejosepho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    200 miles south of Little Rock
    Posts
    2,474

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sirjonas View Post
    Well i just found out my welder requires 50amps for input, so i will either have to find some 6/3 wire or find somebody to trade me for a 110 mig welder or 220 welder that does not draw as much.
    Be cautious about any 110V MIG you might get. Lincoln and Hobart make some decent ones that will work well either with flux-core or with gas, but they cost quite a bit more than most of the cheapies you can find elsewhere and just do not burn all that well and do not last. Also, you might try connecting your welder somewhere and checking its actual amperage draw while doing the actual kind of work you intend to be doing. 50A is likely only needed for running that welder "wide open" with large wire doing heavy work, and you might just find 30A is plenty for what you actually do. The little 120V arc welder I have calls for 30A, but it only actually needs that for burning a full stick of 1/8" rod all at once. If I only burn part of a stick or use 3/32" rod, the welder does just fine with only a 20A circuit supplying the power.
    Last edited by leejosepho; 10-15-2011 at 03:44 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. sub panel to garage
    By pbprice in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 07:46 AM
  2. Two scary wiring mistakes in my garage
    By arfeller in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 07:14 PM
  3. Bathroom above a garage...
    By timsgills in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 06:34 AM
  4. Garage & Exterior wiring questions
    By dgold in forum Electrical Forum discussion & Blog
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 05:01 PM
  5. Garage floor
    By Cookie in forum Plumbing Forum, Professional & DIY Advice, Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2006, 07:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •